Paragliders At The Top Of Pedra da Gávea

in #life6 years ago

DSCF0139.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow my posts.

If the typical tourist landmarks are not for you, and you want to get off the beaten track then here are a couple tips that you wont find in normal tourist guides. Today: Pedra da Gávea.


14108423005_281f1c0a18_o.jpg

Although Pedra da Gávea is not as high as Pico da Tijuca, this summit is probably more famous as it can be seen from most places in the city, including Ipanema beach.


14093335430_1eac242085_o.jpg

14093340290_91b86abef6_o.jpg

This hike is much more challenging than the one I wrote about yesterday. Towards the top it gets a little bit more technical. Although you don't need ropes, you do need to be very careful.



The bottom section of the trek is in the rain forest but half way up you suddenly come out through an opening. It was slightly disorientating because the whole mountain was now shrouded in cloud cover.

DSCF0129.JPG

We saw loads of paragliders circling around in the thermals above the mountain. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a flash of red go past me like a bullet. At first I thought it was a bird but then realised it was a human that had base jumped in a wingsuit!


14279473234_1dd344872f_o.jpg

14276605081_a435d02ee9_o.jpg

Finally reaching the top after a 3 hour trek

DSCF0132.JPG

DSCF0131.JPG

Enjoying the view

DSCF0138.JPG

14093397017_b91a485618_o.jpg

Follow me here and check my old posts!

The Ngorongoro Crater

Elephant Orphanage | Weather Systems | Inside the crater | 5* Eco Lodge | dTube video

Zambia

Entering Zambia | Zambezi Beer on Zambezi River | Zebras | Giraffes | Darting Hyenas

Incredible Zanzibar

Paradise | Teaching English | Dolphin Tourism | Stone Town | Humpback Whales

DQmfW4J7XDYxSdWo5iUMs2sPY7u1D1QXyrRTiVwH5zFa2cJ.jpeg

Exploring Cape Town

Cage Diving & Great White Sharks | Antartica Penguins | Exploring The South Peninsula | Robben Island | Climbing Table Mountain | Cape of Good Hope | Welcome to Cape Town

Mountain Gorillas In The Congo

The Congo | Virunga National Park | Mountain Gorillas 1 / 2 | Lava Lake | Gorilla Oprhanage

Bonito's beautiful waters

Sinkhole | Cave Diving | Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines | Stunning Bonito

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Blue Macaws | Howler Monkeys!

Sort:  

Really amazing photography. Inspiring stuff. Enjoying trawling through all of your material too. I posted my first ever Steem blog today. My series will soon start too if you enjoy reading about the travels of others! :)

Thanks for your comment and welcome to Steemit. I just gave your first post a vote and look forward to reading more. Good luck!

That’s quite awesome.
Are you a professional photographer?

No I'm not.. I just travel a lot, and take a lot of photos :)

well maybe you should think about becoming one ;)

nice job!

Awesome travel post. Followed you to read more such great posts related to travel from you. :)

Wow..the pictures are fantastic and breathtaking ;it must be quite a great experience going up there, I get the chills just looking down-but the city looks amazing from there :) So did u para-glide too?

One of the best hikes I've ever done - thanks for reminding me once again :D

just stumbled over your blog. awesome!! will follow you for more of your adventures!! great pictures by the way!

Wish i have thebsame opportunity. Great post

Nope, that’s too high for me. HAHAHA. I bet the view is really breathtaking in person!

I would love to go paragliding there!!! cheers @dannytravels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61