We Went Inside A 3 Million Year Old Volcanic Crater

in #life6 years ago

SAM_5313.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow my posts.

The Ngorongoro crater was created two to three million years ago when a volcano exploded and collapsed on itself. It has created a contained ecosystem which has become home to some of Africa's best known wildlife.


SAM_5308.JPG

We drove over the rim and down the edge of the crater and I was immediately struck by the view. You can see the crater wall extend around you covering the whole 360 degrees.


SAM_5328.JPG

SAM_5330.JPG

The first animal sighting we had was hundreds of zebra flooding over a riverbed. We were lucky to spot a zebra calf with his mother.


SAM_5352.JPG

SAM_5436.JPG

I'd heard so much about the incredible number of lions in the crater growing up and I was eagerly anticipating seeing a pride of Lions. As we were driving along our guide suddenly spotted a cat far away in the distance. To my delight, after looking through the binoculars he identified it as a Serval cat.


These long legged rare and elusive cats are very difficult spot in the wild. I had never seen one before anywhere so I was over the moon to add another African cat to my list.

Follow me here and check my old posts!

Exploring Cape Town

Cage Diving With Great White Sharks | Penguins from Antartica | Exploring The South Peninsula | Robben Island | Climbing Table Mountain | Cape of Good Hope | Welcome to Cape Town

Mountain Gorillas In The Congo

Arriving In The Congo | Virunga National Park | Mountain Gorillas 1 | Mountain Gorillas 2 | The Largest Lava Lake In The World | Visiting A Gorilla Oprhanage

Bonito's beautiful waters

2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked by Howler Monkeys!

Sort:  

I love how much effort you put in your posts and your blog in general!

thank you @bejaunt I'm looking forward to checking out your blog too when I get back to fast internet :)

Wow it's amazing.... great post

Wow.. it's a great journey and cool shot.. i'm so happy to see this

Great post and amazing pics. Good lucky in your adventure

To bad for your reputation dannystravels because this post has similar content with this one:
I need medical advice from the doctors here.
Try to avoid plagiarism and take action editing or mentioning your source!
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61