Going To The Incredible Virunga National Park

in #life6 years ago

PC318152.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow me.


Today we arrived at Virunga National Park in The Democratic Republic Of Congo.



After the genocide that I mentioned in yesterdays post there was a mass exodus of Refugees to The Congo, which in turn sparked a 20 year civil war. During this whole period tourism was basically killed off. Since the rebels in the Congo have fled, the country is coming back under more control.

The team at Virunga National Park have been working hard to promote tourism in the Congo and in turn using this money to proect the mountain gorillas.

SAM_9366.JPG

One of my favourite documentaries of all time is about Virunga, and the hard working rangers who put their lives on the line protecting the park from poachers and rebels. The allegations against SOCO are hard to ignore - they plan to infiltrate the park, working with the M23 rebels, to dig for oil.

The rangers are the last line of defence for this beautiful place.

SAM_9553.JPG

SAM_9565.JPG

We stayed in a lodge on the border of Virungu national park that was run by the local tourism board. It was crazy to see how agriculture is slowly encroaching on the land (see the first picture below). What was once rainforest has now been taken over.

PC318154.JPG

SAM_9569.JPG

The importance of looking after the mountain gorillas that call this place home is more important than ever.


Follow me here and check my old posts!

Bonito's beautiful waters

The 2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city (Day 2) | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Trekking to the hidden city (50 SBD Giveaway!)

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked my Howler Monkeys! | 50 SBD Giveaway

Sort:  

Wow
Beautiful photography &nice place.... @dannystravels

Hi.. @dannystravels good job your bro, nice taking pictures.keep it up..

Nobody who can take care of our mother nature but us people.
I had fun browsing your photos. It makes me relaxed and appreciates more nature.
Keep it up! Cheers:)

Fantastic post @dannystravels I enjoyed reading it.

a beautiful travel post
I read with pleasure. National Park perfect...

Incredible place to stay for a bit. Those low lying clouds are amazing. It's like something out of a fairytale.

welcome to my continent, when you will come here

Followed and upvoted you, I love your blog cause I'm fascinated with the nature and adventures :) looking forwart for more wildlife blogs ..

Lets just assume that the rangers serve as a defensive mechanism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60