Seeing Mountain Gorillas In The Wild Part 1

in #life6 years ago

PC317962.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow me.


I've been wanting to see gorillas in the wild for 20 years. When the opportunity came up to visit the Congo I couldn't have been more excited. Seeing Gorillas in the Virunga National Park would give me the chance to put my money into local tourism in this amazing place.

SAM_9361.JPG

We woke up at our lodge for a 6 AM breakfast surrounded by mountains. The anticipation was immense - we knew that if anyone could take us close to the Gorillas it would be our trained guides.


Before we started our trek we had a safety briefing, including information about the gorillas and their families. We set off and stayed closed to the park rangers as we trekked up hill for hours through dense jungle. We were following our guides every move.

It wasn't easy going - at one point we had to run through a nest of fire ants that blocked our path. At the top of the hill we stopped to pick the biting ants off of our skin - including the ones that had somehow got inside our underwear!

PC318142.JPG

After a while we came alongside a tracker stood on his own in the middle of the jungle. He told us to be quiet while he spoke with our guide. He let us know he'd seen gorillas close by yesterday, and with that he moved out of sight.

As he came back towards us, cutting a path to us through the thick undergrowth we were overcome by excitement as he delivered the good news: the gorillas were still here!

PC317937.JPG

SAM_9396.JPG

Stay tuned for Part 2


Follow me here and check my old posts!

Bonito's beautiful waters

The 2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city (Day 2) | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Trekking to the hidden city (50 SBD Giveaway!)

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked my Howler Monkeys! | 50 SBD Giveaway

>

Sort:  

Three things comes to mind when I read this:

  • Your pictures are really good
  • I want to see the gorillas too!
  • Keep up the good work

Thank you @susanne Looks like you are on an adventure too. Where are you off to next? You must visit the Congo!

I am! Next stop is Cape Town for 2 weeks! :) I think I should. I've only been to Kenya in Africa, but I loved it a lot.

Hey @susanne!! I'm Kenyan and it's great to hear that you loved your stay here :) Always welcomed back to Kenya.

Did you know: Scientists recognize two species of gorilla - eastern gorillas (Gorilla beringei) and western gorillas (G. gorilla) - each with two subspecies

The giant body size of gorilla makes them unapproachable. The feeling of seeing gorillas in the zoo and in the wild is so different. Conservation should be carry out to protect these rare animals from extinction.

Wow! Lucky you ;)
It's always stunning to see animals in the wild. Thank's for sharing!

Hi...woww.. @dannystravels thanks for sharing natureal photography in Virunga National Park .
Gorilla is beautiful ..

Those gorillas are probably much more famous than I am hahah

I like your post and I follow also you upvote my all post please.This is a small request.I also upvote your old posts.

What a thrill, I would love to see gorillas in the wild. Looking out for post #2...

your site is really cool. one of the coolest travel sites i ve seen so far. i am not so much a fan of hotel photos. but rather your style. must be an amazing feeling to see gorillas in the wild. can't wait to do it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43