Hiking Up Pico do Papagaio

in #life6 years ago

IMG_1667.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow my posts.

After our first day exploring the island of Ilha Grande and relaxing on the beach, we decided to get active.


DSCF0326.JPG

Pico do Papagaio is the highest point on the island and is named after it's parrot beak shape. The mountain is over 1200 metres high making the trek quite difficult.


DSCF0327.JPG

DSCF0330.JPG

The village of Abraao from above

DSCF0336.JPG

DSCF0182.JPG

We climbed for almost an hour before we heard a deafening roar echoing around the forest. We had no idea what animal it was, but it got louder and louder as we moved forward.



We decided to follow the noise because we were determined to find out what kind of animal could be making such a loud sound. It turned out to be a Howler monkey which was high up in the canopy above. Their howls which are used to mark their territory can travel up to 3 miles through dense rainforest.

IMG_1646.JPG

Sitting at the top of the peak at 1200 metres

DSCF0207.JPG

DSCF0210.JPG

When we got back I found this vacant hammock and enjoyed a well earned rest. Out of all the trekking I've done in Rio and Ilha Grande this is definitely the one I'd recommend most.

Follow me here and check my old posts!

The Ngorongoro Crater

Elephant Orphanage | Weather Systems | Inside the crater | 5* Eco Lodge | dTube video

Zambia

Entering Zambia | Zambezi Beer on Zambezi River | Zebras | Giraffes | Darting Hyenas

Incredible Zanzibar

Paradise | Teaching English | Dolphin Tourism | Stone Town | Humpback Whales

DQmfW4J7XDYxSdWo5iUMs2sPY7u1D1QXyrRTiVwH5zFa2cJ.jpeg

Exploring Cape Town

Cage Diving & Great White Sharks | Antartica Penguins | Exploring The South Peninsula | Robben Island | Climbing Table Mountain | Cape of Good Hope | Welcome to Cape Town

Mountain Gorillas In The Congo

The Congo | Virunga National Park | Mountain Gorillas 1 / 2 | Lava Lake | Gorilla Oprhanage

Bonito's beautiful waters

Sinkhole | Cave Diving | Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines | Stunning Bonito

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Blue Macaws | Howler Monkeys!

Sort:  

all incredible! Love the nature and it would give more than this. I love it so much man! Have you ever been come to Indonesia? it will give you something like this too :D

Thank you. I've never been to Indonesia. I've been to Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia though. I'd love to go one day - where do you recommend I must go?

You should come to Indonesia, and I recommend you to start it from Aceh. Why so? Because Indonesia is start from here. 0 km of Indonesia is in Sabang, Aceh, Indonesia. (and I can guide you if you interest to come cause I'm near here. For free obviously!)

Then, so many amazing other place in Indonesia. Like Toba lake in Sumatera Utara, Belitung islands which is so so gorgeous, Kerinci mountain which is the highest in Sumatera, Lombok, Bali, Nusa Penida, Gili trawangan, Komodo island, huuuuhh I dunno how to list it to you dude! LOL :D

You are incredibly kind. I'll let you know if I make it out that way!

Beautiful images! I hope you continue to venture to amazing places around the globe and are able to share them!

So many beautiful images of amazing travels and nature! :)Helen

Great photos! You get way too close to the edge of the cliffs but it's great photos! :)

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #32! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66