The Story Of My Lifelong Struggle With Anxiety And Panic Disorders

in #life8 years ago

The Story Of My Lifelong Struggle With Anxiety And Panic Disorders

So were finally here. I’ll admit I avoided posting this story for a long time, mostly out of embarrassment of having these conditions, especially since I do my best to hide them from even my best friends on a day to day basis. However, the last few hours I spent on the edge of going into a full blown panic attack and trying to calm myself down, so I figured maybe it might be therapeutic to write this article. My anxiety and panic disorder, may completely different than what you have experienced with your own anxiety/ panic because it is mostly a broad term used to describe many possible problems. I'm generally just going to talk about my history battling the disorder and basically how I am affected by it on a daily basis.

I was always a nervous child, looking back I remember vividly, having experiences where I would completely freeze up and start to feel like the world was ending, but at that time I didn’t realize that they were most likely panic attacks. I wasn’t a shy child, in face I was pretty outgoing and always cracking jokes or messing with teachers, but deep inside my subconscious I was collecting all the experiences that made me uncomfortable or nervous and storing them there. Its hard to explain the difference of being slightly nervous and having situational anxiety and a panic attack. Being nervous is normal, but being nervous to the point where I cant stay in a classroom because I start sweating profusely, my heart beat starts going crazy and I feel like the world is going to end is not.

The real problems with my anxiety and panic disorder didn’t come until my sophomore year in high school. I was stressed for a test one day and the teacher already made me a bit nervous and halfway through the test I started having a panic attack and the teacher wouldn't let me leave until I finished the test. I had no idea what had just hit me, but all I knew is I never wanted that to happen again. Sadly for me things only got worse. The next day I walked into the classroom and I couldn’t even be there without thinking about having another one of those attacks, which inevitably worked me up into another one. Suddenly I couldn’t be in any of my classes without this happening and I had to go to the bathroom every 20 minutes just to calm myself down. The thing is I wasn’t stressed really, the only reason I was getting panic attacks was because I was afraid of having another panic attack. It was a cycle that therapy was never able to help me with, because I genuinely had no idea why this was happening.

Eventually leaving the classroom too much and a large drop in my grades made it clear I had to do something. I went to a psychiatrist who prescribed me medication and gave me Xanax to help when I had panic attacks. The medication eventually worked, but it still didn’t stop panic attacks completely so I took Xanax twice during the school day every day. I don’t know if any of you have ever taken Xanax but it drops your cognitive ability and knocks a good 10 or so points off your IQ, so school started to become much harder for me. I had always been the type of student who could learn in class and didn’t have to study for the tests, with okay results, but now that just didn’t cut it.

My entire high school career was a mess, for four years I was never able to get a handle on my anxiety and it finally took until probably my senior year until my medication was at a point where I could reasonably function on a daily basis. My grades became near perfect my senior year, and a luckily I was able to get into a great school mostly because of other entrepreneurial things I was doing at the time. High school was a lonely time for me, I never really fit into many social groups and because I was afraid to go too far from home if I had a panic attack, I never really put myself out there when people would throw parties or hang out. I tried to focus on myself during this time, but ended up spending most of my time with people I met over the internet, while playing games like World Of Warcraft. I never really had interaction with girls and spent too much time living in my own room.

College was an open change, when I went for my freshman year it was great, I was meeting all new people, my meds were on track and even being away from home I felt on track. Even though I had many moments of panic, I was mostly able to get past them because I felt like I was part of a group for once. This didn’t last long though , because my sophomore year I started become increasingly weary of what I put in my body to the point where I had a panic attacks for three days straight and just stayed in my room after trying an Adderral to help me study for finals. I was just able to pass my finals but all my progress had felt like it had been reset. For months after that moment I had trouble putting food in my body, couldn’t take any medicine, would drink anything with red dye or caffeine. If I did any of those I would have a panic attack until I used enough Xanax to calm me down, which usually just knocked me out and I even got nervous using that.

I ended up taking a semester off and felt like a failure. I looked all around me and didn’t see anyone else having the same problems as me and often I just became depressed to the point where I didn’t want to do anything. I remember laying in bed and just a random bad thought would trigger me into a panic attack and I would feel like I was going to die. This was probably the worst time of my life. It took months before I was even able to deal with sitting in a classroom and after a semester I returned back to my friends. When I did I was happy again, but I had changed. I now had all these trigger that I never had before and avoided them at all costs. It was still hard for me to sit in certain classes which made me avoid going to class on certain stressful days. Almost a year later during my Junior year, I again had to take a semester off because it was discovered I would need heart surgery immediately. I realized at this point that I wouldn’t be graduating with my friends and I started to get depressed and lonely. After my friends graduated I felt like no one was there to support me. Well with my final two classes coming up on halfway through, its almost time to finally graduate, but anxiety hasn’t left me, but with the right medication, has made my life easier.

I take four pills at night for anxiety and two Xanax during the day to get me through the day without panic attacks. I still have many triggers that I avoid, like traveling long distances, using any type of medicine, consuming any caffeine( I haven’t even had chocolate in 3 years because of the low caffeine content), being in classrooms, buses, airplanes, or just thing I cant openly leave or don’t have control of. I live a life that some people would find maddening and for me it often is. There are days like today where I wish I could just be normal, I wish I could just have normal people problems and not this crazy mind I was given. My hope is one day I can get off this medication and live a regular life, but after 8 years of medication it is going to be an extremely hard transition that I have tried to do multiple times and failed. I wonder how I am going to function as a member of society with this disorder and often think I wont. I wrote this article as a form of therapy to remind myself that I have made it this far and although things aren’t ideal, I haven’t given up yet. I hope anyone else who is struggling out there can find some use of my story and realize you are not a weird alone individual. People look at me and often think I have things together, but in reality my world is held together by a string that can snap at any moment. You're not alone in this.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

I really feel for you. Anxiety sucks. I've struggled with it mildly to moderately since my teens and my son developed a SEVERE case that developed into OCD coping mechanisms in his teens. It crippled him and the family, but I'm happy to say he has been in remission for 3 years now. (Still medicated, Luvox, but down to 1/3 highest dose now. Worlds slowest ween, but that's okay.)

thank you for sharing your experience here and being honest and open. It helps to know we are not alone. I won't offer any advice either, as I think we each have to find our own cure experientially. And painfully our struggle is ultimately the drive that leads us to our unique insight/cure. Hugs to you.

I definitely have behaviors that are similar to OCD behaviors caused primarily because of my anxiety as well. I understand when you mention how it affected your family because sometimes I feel like I have put too much on my family with my anxiety as well. Although I dont lash out at them or anything, when I had those times of complete overwhelming anxiety I often relied on them to support me. Im really glad to hear your son is doing better and I wish him the best going forward. I really appreciate the kind words.

Thank you for being so open and honest about your anxiety and depression. I've had bouts of depression where I could barely get out of bed and no motivation to even take a shower. A SHOWER! I've been blessed enough not to have to take medication at this point because I've released many negative people from my life. I rarely watch TV so I'm not bombarded with bad news. I make sure I step outside and find something - anything - to appreciate in nature. But I've always said that I have a broken brain and that I didn't fit in. It wasn't until I was in my 30s when I was assessed with Asperger's. That knowledge changed my life for the better. I still fight anxiety and depression. I know when I've had too much. But instead of focusing my attention on it, I remove myself to a quiet place. Most people think I'm "cured". I'll never be cured but I've learned to cope.

You have strength in the telling of your story and I hope you will eventually find peace for your volatile mind. Keep writing. Keep sharing. I truly believe the more we talk about it, the less power it has within us.

I really never had depression that bad, but my brother did. Sometimes im glad that I deal with anxiety rather than depression, but sometimes im not sure. I rarely watch tv too but with reddit and other social media I definitely see my fair share of the worse parts of the world. I have some coping methods, there are a few movies and music that makes me extremely calm and can take me out of a panic attack. I would have never gotten through my time period of having anxiety attacks just while laying in bed if it werent for Hayao Miyazaki. I must have watched one of his movies, mostly spirited away every other day for months. The soundtracks and animation produced such a calming experience for me. Thanks for all the advice, I really am appreciative that people in a different state or country that dont even know me, care.

Good article. I'm not going to give you any advice. I'm only going to say I can relate to most of this. I suffered from severe anxiety as a teenager; alcohol was my only medication, then, as a early 20's guy I suffered from schizophrenia and took so many meds I rattled. At one point I was scared to leave the house.

I'm in my late 30's now and fully recovered - there is hope, my friend. And yes, you deserve it :)

Thanks so much for the advice, im really hoping at some point in my life it passes and I dont keep getting pushed back by more things that trigger me. I really appreciate your story it gives me hope that one day I won't suffer anymore.

There is hope, definitely! Good luck :)

I recently wrote a bit about my anxiety attacks. Anyway, I discovered over time that much of my anxiety and panick attacks is centered around feelings of control. Feeling trapped in any way, including things like you mention: taking medication or drugs (I can't come down when I want, I can't control the sensations) going on long trip (I can't get out of this plane if I wanted, I can't be back home quickly if I wanted) and things like that. Coming to that realization has helped me somewhat to realize that I can surrender that need for control, but it doesn't always work of course. I acknowledge that feeling in control is not the same as being in control, and I am not in control of most things, if anything at all.

Anyway, I discovered over time that much of my anxiety and panic attacks is centered around feelings of control

Definitely this is what probably triggers the majority of what makes me anxious. I don't like not having control, of myself when I can leave a room, my body when I put medicine in it or anything else. You are definitely on point in what I go through. I have been in therapy and tried so many times to relinquish control, but it is only when im on Xanax is when I can do that, which is why it works very well for me. When im in that state I accept everything that is going to happen to me.

I have PTSD and Anxiety. Just wondered if anyone else sometime feel as if they have been misdiagnosed?

Sounds stupid but I often panic out because I'm feeling like I'm not being listened to by the experts. I know it's probably the anxiety that makes me feel that way. It's just a vicious cycle.

My daughter used to have panic attacks since she was really little. I used to just scoop her up in my arms and hold her. Immediately her body relaxed and she quickly moved through it. Now, as an adult she is a top successful sales person in company. You would never guess now that she used to be really shy and scared to talk to people most her childhood.

It's interesting to read your story and get a better insight into perhaps my daughter's experience. Her great advantage to healing through it also was she never ever went to public school. She free-schooled, following her own interest.

Honestly sometimes I wish I could be scooped up and held and told that everything would be alright. I would feel a lot better. Probably pretty hard now because im 6'4, but there is definitely something primal about having that human interaction that calms you down and makes you feel safe. Im very happy to hear your daughter grew out of it with age and I can only hope that the same will happen with me. I doubt I will ever be free of anxiety and panic, but having it more manageable would be ideal.

I just had a sense that what really mattered more than anything was helping her feel loved and safe. I'm sending you lots of love right now and a big energetic hug. Be at peace. You've already taken a big scary step to healing.

Thanks for sharing this. I was diagnosed with generalized anxiety about 6 years ago. The psychiatrist I went to, prescribed xanax and helped me talk through some issues. But he said I might never find out the cause of my anxiety. Well I thought about it and realized that like jamtaylor, my anxiety was connected to control. if I was blocked in some way - waiting for cars to pass, waiting in line anywhere, waiting for an elevator, my anxiety skyrocketed. What started this? I still don't know. But I found a book that helped me with coping strategies. It deals with different types of anxiety too. I highly highly recommend it. I don't take and meds and function as normally as I ever did. I still get episodes of anxiety but now I can handle them. The book is Embracing the Fear: Learning To Manage Anxiety & Panic Attacks and they have it at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Embracing-Fear-Learning-Anxiety-Attacks/dp/089486971X/. Good luck!

I definitely relate to you and Jamtaylor on my anxiety being about not feeling like I have control. I literally have my anxiety triggered by all the situations you posted about. Ill definitely check out the book, I bookmarked it. I have an arsenal of coping strategies at this point to calm me down, but there are just some times on bad days when nothing works.

I hope the book helps you the way it did me, calaber24p.m It did require working at it. And the hardest part for me was not fighting that fear and panic you feel sometimes. But their strategies really do help. Good luck!

I felt like I was reading about myself. Currently, I am on month 4 of a total withdrawl from all anxiety medication. (I have been taking Atavan for 10 years) It's a bit of a rocky road. I am having to learn how to "live with my anxiety" instead of medicated it to a reasonable level. It is difficult! Take care and I understand the struggle.

I have tried to get off a few times because I hate the side effects that come with them. I have failed unfortunately. Im on buspar and Effexor, the latter which is extremely hard to come off of. It would literally be impossible to work or do anything while lowering the dosages on that one unless I were to break the capsule apart and weigh everything down and go down slower than what they currently offer in dosages. I hope you have success with controlling your anxiety. That is my ultimate goal.

I shared in this struggle. It is difficult feeling alone in it. I'm happy to see you opening up about your journey!

I know how you feel. thank for sharing.. there are several situations you mention that I lived thru as well. Unsure if you have read or follow my blog but I have a project I'm trying to get funded so I can continue exploring this darkness we hide in... Watch the video below, follow and share with others as well if you like.. Thanks for sharing this with teh community, I know how hard and embarrassing you might feel in the beginning but opening up like this.. is a huge step
Episode 1 - Awareness

Most big things seem to be out of our control. Good luck and health to you!

Yeah which is a huge problem for me, I find it hard to accept that I cant control most things in my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44