You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story Of My Lifelong Struggle With Anxiety And Panic Disorders

in #life8 years ago

I recently wrote a bit about my anxiety attacks. Anyway, I discovered over time that much of my anxiety and panick attacks is centered around feelings of control. Feeling trapped in any way, including things like you mention: taking medication or drugs (I can't come down when I want, I can't control the sensations) going on long trip (I can't get out of this plane if I wanted, I can't be back home quickly if I wanted) and things like that. Coming to that realization has helped me somewhat to realize that I can surrender that need for control, but it doesn't always work of course. I acknowledge that feeling in control is not the same as being in control, and I am not in control of most things, if anything at all.

Sort:  

Anyway, I discovered over time that much of my anxiety and panic attacks is centered around feelings of control

Definitely this is what probably triggers the majority of what makes me anxious. I don't like not having control, of myself when I can leave a room, my body when I put medicine in it or anything else. You are definitely on point in what I go through. I have been in therapy and tried so many times to relinquish control, but it is only when im on Xanax is when I can do that, which is why it works very well for me. When im in that state I accept everything that is going to happen to me.

I have PTSD and Anxiety. Just wondered if anyone else sometime feel as if they have been misdiagnosed?

Sounds stupid but I often panic out because I'm feeling like I'm not being listened to by the experts. I know it's probably the anxiety that makes me feel that way. It's just a vicious cycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44