You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story Of My Lifelong Struggle With Anxiety And Panic Disorders

in #life8 years ago

Thanks for sharing this. I was diagnosed with generalized anxiety about 6 years ago. The psychiatrist I went to, prescribed xanax and helped me talk through some issues. But he said I might never find out the cause of my anxiety. Well I thought about it and realized that like jamtaylor, my anxiety was connected to control. if I was blocked in some way - waiting for cars to pass, waiting in line anywhere, waiting for an elevator, my anxiety skyrocketed. What started this? I still don't know. But I found a book that helped me with coping strategies. It deals with different types of anxiety too. I highly highly recommend it. I don't take and meds and function as normally as I ever did. I still get episodes of anxiety but now I can handle them. The book is Embracing the Fear: Learning To Manage Anxiety & Panic Attacks and they have it at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Embracing-Fear-Learning-Anxiety-Attacks/dp/089486971X/. Good luck!

Sort:  

I definitely relate to you and Jamtaylor on my anxiety being about not feeling like I have control. I literally have my anxiety triggered by all the situations you posted about. Ill definitely check out the book, I bookmarked it. I have an arsenal of coping strategies at this point to calm me down, but there are just some times on bad days when nothing works.

I hope the book helps you the way it did me, calaber24p.m It did require working at it. And the hardest part for me was not fighting that fear and panic you feel sometimes. But their strategies really do help. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44