Killthepad w12 - Persistence

in #killthepad6 years ago

killthepad_01.png

Designed by @scuzzy

Killthepad week 12 is here and the topic is Persistence. Must admit at first I was lost on what to write, but I watched a touching YouTube video of an old man who used to be an athlete and it inspired the piece.

Hermes Sandals

I remember my first pair of running shoes,
Twas in school,
Inter house sports, looked dope and I just thought it cool,
In mock races, I won the guys
PE teacher said I should represent the form with pride
Race was quick, I don't remember how it started
Seemed like I zoned out and just got distracted
Didn't move till I saw others in front of me
Autopilot, my body took off on me
It was over in seconds.
Had sober reflections
Came 5th place and left with a cold ass depression
But my best friend wouldnt have it
Already looking past it, he said "you need practice"
So I set to train myself
Strain myself
The next platform I got I would stage myself!
Muscle tears, couple fears I still braced myself
When other runners mocked me, I would praise myself.
I could feel the hard stress
Fitness work I did regardless
While teammates enjoyed drinking and flexed
I was on the track hitting targets
Competition came in the cold winter
Big news, a scholarship for the gold winner
It was everything I hoped, bigger
Fire in my eyes as I told sister
Ready, Set, Go!
Wind whistling as my feet quickening
Swift leading, they fell behind like kid siblings
The breathing deep as I Sprint with every thing in me
Thoughts of the team lifting me as I bring victory
Oh sweet victory, finish line crossed with glee
The euphoria, Head official raised my hand for the win

c××××[]===============>

written by @ulqu3


Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out.

Robert Collier


Like this verse? Check out my other works

Titan
Ave Dei
Killthepad - Integrity
Killthepad - Honesty
Killthepad - Peace
Killthepad - Apathy
Killthepad - Fear
Killthepad - Family
And my personal favourite...
Memoirs of a demigod

Looking to invest in innovative Crypto? Check out

GoChain - 100x faster than Ethereum
FarmaTrust- Anti-Counterfeit platform on blockchain
Chimeara - Gaming platform on blockchain
CrowdMachine - App development platform on blockchain
Invox Finance - Invoice financing platform on blockchain

Want to learn how to rap, buy a verse? Message me on Discord @ulqu3#3907

Loyal to @thealliance and @reachout

QmeHFBAe5z2qiq3XAUYjMPgPyoc8qPRwaQPiDRLWUu8RnB.png

Don't forget to UPVOTE and RESTEEM

Thank you and God bless.

Sort:  

Your post is resteemed by @anupbose and @apukb
Thanks for using our resteem service.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.34% upvote!
I was summoned by @ulqu3. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Good stuff man!

Thank you Sir. Appreciate you passing by. :)

Really good brother!

Nice i like the sword you provided too, very well written

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52