Hi Steemit! Born in England, married in the USA, living in Australia with a beautiful family of mixed accents.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

After all of you lovely people up voted my hubby for his first two posts, I went and bought myself a new pair of shoes. 

Then I decided it was time for me to start blogging :-)   

My name is Olivia. I’m a wife and a mother of six amazing children. My youngest is now 5 and my eldest is 13. Yes, that means for 10 years I was either pregnant or breastfeeding!   

I’m very passionate about my job as a stay-at-home-mum. I love to cook healthy meals and bake yummy treats. Get ready for some recipes Steemit!    

One of my favourite times of the day is when all eight of us sit down for dinner together, to talk about the day, life and our values. One of my most important jobs is to create opportunities for all of us to be together in one place. Food is my secret weapon.   

I also love to connect with people. I only recently discovered, after my youngest started school six months ago, that I’m an extrovert. Not sure how I missed that. It sure makes for some lonely days when I’m the only one home!    

I’ve moved ten times in the last seventeen years, calling three different countries home. It's been an incredible adventure and I feel as though I’ve been blessed with the ability to settle and adapt quickly to new environments. It’s a good job!   

The dark side of living overseas is that as my parents get older, and my siblings’ families grow, the distance seems to widen and I have to fight to stay connected with them. Many days I would love nothing more than to sit down with my Mum for a spot of tea and crumpets. It does make my parents’ bi-annual Aussie visits extremely memorable and we treasure every minute we have together, not really knowing when or perhaps even if we’ll see each other again.  

I grew up in Yorkshire, England, one of the most beautiful places in the world. If you’ve seen photos of rolling hills, purple heather and 500-year-old stone walls - that’s Yorkshire.    

Here’s a photo of our last family visit back to the UK seven years ago. We only had three children at the time and it was much less expensive to get us all there!  

I moved to St. Louis in the USA when I was 20 years old to attend a leadership development program that was connected to my church. Soon after, I first laid eyes on my future husband @jasonstaggers. It wasn’t until later that we hooked up, almost two years after that first meeting.   

I love to inspire and encourage people, especially other wives and mothers. If you’re a mum, be assured that no matter how thankless or monotonous the days may feel, you are making deposits in the hearts of your children that will impact their lives forever. 

I love this quote from Abraham Lincoln:    “I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.”   

This is one of my favourite photos, taken on a weekend getaway a couple years ago with my man.   

Yes, getaways are still possible with six kids, and so essential for your marriage, not to mention your own sanity!    

I don't understand much about crypto-whatever, but I do know that if this thing is going to be big (and if I’m going to keep getting more shoes), you’re going to need a lot more people like me on here.   

Here’s to many more mums joining Steemit!   

And here’s to my new shoes :-)   

Sort:  

Hey Olivia! Welcome to Steemit! Don't mind the bots, they tend to latch on to introduceyourself posts. This place is still being defined by the community each and every day. Who knows what it will be tomorrow.

I loved this:

If you’re a mum, be assured that no matter how thankless or monotonous the days may feel, you are making deposits in the hearts of your children that will impact their lives forever.

I also got a chuckle out of:

I don't understand much about crypto-whatever

I think you're right. For this thing to work, it will need a lot more people like you. Thanks for joining up! Hopefully Jason's success hasn't skewed your expectations too wildly. Also, be sure to say hello to @corinnestokes as she's been blogging here as well.

Thanks so much Luke! I've been wanting to start blogging for a while now, so this opportunity came at the perfect time. Don't worry, I'm a realist and most excited about just having a place to air my thoughts from time to time. Hi @corinnestokes :-) Looking forward to heading to over to your blog and having a read. For now, the kitchen is calling as I've got a pot of soup to start working on :-)

Welcome to Steemit. You are awesome!

Thank you so much. Looking forward to checking out your post.

Welcome to the community!

Welcome! Upvote for you! Beautiful family.
I just wrote my intro post too. Please feel free to check it out.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@condra/hello-introducing-my-life-in-embarrassing-photos

Thank you so much. Happy to be here. I'd be happy to check out your post :-)

TYVM! Means a lot!

Hi OP! I am @jeeves, a public service robot (PSR). I want to thank you for this wonderful post. I'm here to deliver my sincere upvote. For readers: if you liked this blog, you might also be interested in these other posts tagged "introduceyourself".

Here are the top 3 most popular posts tagged "introduceyourself":

  1. SA's City of Durban to be engulfed by STEEM! The world to follow! ($11173.05)
  2. Hello Steemit! I'm a UX designer and visual artist. I'm here to write about usability on the blockchain! ($4648.3)
  3. Hi, I am Malcolm Blackman(Anonymous UK Leader) : My story from leading Occupy London Movement to Being Accused of RAPE [Videos Included] ($2887.06)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55