Minimalism or Not?

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

One of the stuff I learned about photography here in Steemit, thanks to the Steemit Photo Challenge (hosted by @jamtaylor) is minimalism. I thought that just applies in house interiors and I love that idea. Turns out there is such a thing - in photography.

On the week that it was announced as the theme, I submitted 3 pics that don't even fall in the category.
I had to laugh at my ignorance. I went on researching and clicked on the link the host wrote to refer at and check on to so we get the right idea.

One tip I picked up from there is to use blank space or I think the right word for photography is - a negative space.

Would these three photos of Hydrangeas in Autumn fall for that rule? IMHO - yes, but I would like to hear from my photography friends I follow here.

That day, though it was sunny - the sky was just full of cotton clouds and so I crouched and took it on this angle making the flowers look like it was staring down at me when I'm actually taller than that plant.

That's the same plant our facade which you'll find in this post.

I also picked up that we should use contrasting colors so I wonder if this soup of algae in the pond and the leaves floating on it is okay or those reed left overs just made it a no - no?

I learned that cropping elements that make it too busy helps in amplifying the minimalism appeal of the pic so I took those Devil's Ivy out.

Would that red leaves covered turf and this algae overpowered pond be considered contrasting minimalism? Or this is actually too busy?

I took all of them on this bridge.

And this is what the whole deal of that pond looks like.

And though this follows the rule of one subject and that what seem to look like a monotonous direction on the brown leaves (at first glance) and obviously since that huge yellow green Sycamore leaf stands out , is this picture still too busy to be considered minimalism?

What if I present it this way to you? Would it now?

And since I prefer leaving things alone as they are when I take them, would these two Sycamore leaves lying on that textured pavement make it too busy?

So, have I actually done everything that's opposite of those blued words and committed a crime of applying something I've learned the wrong way? One thing I am certain .. this one below can't and is not a minimalism pic.

I took these shots during one of my strolls. The Hydrangeas and the Sycamore leaves were all taken using my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 version. The Algae Soup, I mean ~~ ... pond were all taken with my Samsung Galaxy Note 1 using the Fall Mode.



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Nice photos! I'm not sure minimalism is well-defined in photography, using "a minimum amount of components such as colour, shape, line and texture" should come close.
BTW that pond really looks a bit like erwtensoep.

@ocrdu hahah - dank je wel
erwtensoup but then cold :)

I like how you presented your problem and how you worked it out. The only critique I would give you is to be careful with colour saturation - the picture with the red roof could be toned down a bit. Otherwise your photos are good, well thought out and I love the negative space :)

@countrygirl, thank you - is it the one with the pond or the bridge? The one with the pond is red orange - it is indeed shouting. I didn't edit it though - just cropped a few but that one is just as how it was taken, I suck at photoshop - it's very annoying to use or maybe I haven't really spend enough time - that, too.

It's the one that follows your sentence "And this is what the whole deal of that pond looks like." I don't use PhotoShop either. I use the editing in Picassa and am happy with how that turns out. Your photos are really good....they follow a line that draws the eye into the picture. I heard Photoshop is tough to learn which is why I haven't learned it. :) Keep taking photos, you are good at it.

@countrygirl thank you :)
yes, that's bright red orange indeed - it's the Dutch' national color so that grocery store got their roof painted that way.
I don't use photo shop either, I like taking pics just how things are and I just change the angles sometimes.

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

These are lovely photographs....there is a style in your work that comes through....very nicely done.
Yes....negative space is an art term as well.

Thank you for your support. All the best. Cheers.

Nice. The same group of picture that qualify for autumn and countryside theme is a bonus.

@ace108 thank you, you're right - it is indeed for those themes, too

you're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46