At the doctor's office - 5 MINUTE FREEWRITE

in #freewrite6 years ago

178548599.jpg
image source

A half an hour has passed and my father was still inside the doctor's office. What could they be talking about for so long? Had the test results not turn out good? Was he going to die? I was not ready for that, none of us were, especially my wife and kids. My two little girls love their granda very much and I hate to think I will have to have the talk about death with them. Goldfish and our dog have "moved away" to a better place, I'm not sure that story would work on them again with grandpa. How old does a child have to be to not be traumatized by death? A child? Will I be traumatized by death? I haven't thought about that much, I will miss the old goat that's for sure but I have to be strong for my family. I have to be there for them as support and a pillar. Whatever happens, I will be strong. Oh God, please don't make my father die...

"See you in a couple of months mister Harper." a doctor said to my father as he was leaving his office.

"Is everything ok?" I asked the doctor before he went back inside.

"He's as healthy as a horse, this one. Just remind him to take his vitamins and he'll outlive us all." the doctor chuckled.


This was my entry for the freewrite challenge organized by @mariannewest, the theme was "vitamins". The only rule was to set a timer for 5 minutes and write until the time runs out.

If you liked my story please visit @mariannewest blog and read the rest of wonderful pieces in this short story fun making :)
It's fun!

My previous freewrite posts:

Sort:  

Hehe, it's funny how fast the mind moves in that direction. But, a truth the older we get. How exactly do you explain death to a child...someday I might need to figure that out. Good free write :)

Yes, it is a tricky one to explain but only because we never truly explain it to ourselves, how do we expect to be able to explain it to others? :)

Nice story there @zen-art and a stream of thought many of us have had at different times, wondering about the what-ifs and the maybes.. Really like how you worked in the vitamins at the end.

Those ifs and maybes are somehow always there when you least need them.
Thanks for reading and leaving your comment. 💚

I was right there with you!!! it's a fast road from a to z sometimes!!!

Yeah, the road in our mind is a fast one :)

This pretty much sums up every trip I make to the doctor. I go in convinced I'll be told I have a month to live and end up leaving with a prescription for ibuprofen.


Your next prompt is ready...
Prompts.jpg
...and it's even more succulent than I imagined.


For a single prompt #freewrite, click HERE!
For a multiple-prompt #freewrite, click HERE!

Oh, I know what you mean, but try to stop it hihihi :)

you got us going for a bit here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50