Yard sale? No, thank you. - 5 MINUTE FREEWRITE

in #freewrite6 years ago

shutterstock_155981243.jpg

I've heard that a yard sale is just clearing your clutter and that you can make good money on it, but I've never seen one in my country, only on tv shows. I often wondered why is it so popular in America and not here in Europe. Are we Europeans less social or does it maybe have to do with something else. I can't really tell.

In my country, when you have some old used stuff that you want to sell, you go to the market or post it online. I'm 32 years old and never have I seen a yard sale in Croatia or heard about it from my parents or grandparents even. We just don't do it and if I am being completely honest, I can't imagine myself doing it. Strange people coming to my house and touching stuff, no thank you. Don't get me wrong, I AM a people person, but I am also picky and critical on allowing anyone into my personal space. If you are not a friend or have been recommended by a friend, you will probably be left outside the door. I won't turn you away but I won't let you in either but instead, I will come outside and get to know you on the neutral ground. If you prove yourself as a normal person (by my subjective standards, of course, hihihi) then you are allowed in my home.

IMAG0996.jpg
Me saying no to yard sales :)

So, do you have yard sales in your country?

cool-decorative-line-clipart-1.jpg

This was my entry for the freewrite challenge organized by @mariannewest, the theme was "yard sale". The only rule was to set a timer for 5 minutes and write until the time runs out.

This was the first time that I've taken a more personal approach instead of writing fiction, my inspiration took me there and I followed, stopping when the clock run out. Hope I did ok :)

If you liked my story please visit @mariannewest blog and read the rest of wonderful pieces in this short story fun making :)
My previous freewrite posts:

Sort:  

What we have here in Edinburgh is markets and car boot sales. We even have a big junk yard where you can find absolutely anything and for very very cheap but I have never seen a yard sale. Here in the UK, I think most people would feel as you described...not so sure about allowing people into their home.

We have a junkyard here too, that is what I was thinking when I wrote market. Interesting to hear the UK does not do yard sales, maybe it is just Americans then.
Thank you for stopping by 💚

We had flea markets in Germany. I think yard sales are a bit a result of how housing is set up in the States. The suburban sprawl typically has houses with lawns out front. And that is where the sale takes place - not inside the house.
Could also have to do with different laws about business and such.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37