Writings in leaves - 5 MINUTE FREEWRITE

in #freewrite6 years ago

jake-olson-photography-8.jpg
Image source - photography by Jake Olson

"Why do they move all the time?" she asked her grandmother
"The wind is telling us a story and the leaves are his words."
"Leaves are not words grandma, you're being silly. Leaves are just leaves." she giggled
"When you write, do your words move across the paper?" grandmother tried to intrigue her
"Yes, but they don't disappear." she was determined to prove her point
"Ok, but does the story you write take you to different places in your mind. Do you see and feel the images you've created?"

The little girl started to wonder, a spark of imagination was lit in her mind and everything slowly began to fall in its place.

"Look at the leaves more closely my dear. Do you see it? Do you see how the story is changing? With every movement, something old is replaced with something new and the story continues."

cool-decorative-line-clipart-1.jpg

This was my entry for the freewrite challenge organized by @mariannewest, the theme was "palimpsest" and/or "describe wind". The only rule was to set a timer for 5 minutes and write until the time runs out. If you liked my story please visit @mariannewest blog and read the rest of wonderful pieces in this short story fun making :)

My previous freewrite posts:

Sort:  

What a lovely story and how a new writer can be nurtured. I love the imagery of the leaves speaking. I can remember laying beneath the trees when I was a young girl and watching them and listening them. I would have to agree that the leaves can talk.

Oh yes, they can! :)
Thank you for stopping by and reading. Have a great day! 💚

It was my pleasure! I will be back because I have followed you.

My grandma isn't so poetic (she's 91) but she encouraged me to read a lot, with my grandpa (he's 94) and my parents. From the books I read as a child, came my twist for writing ;)

I drop here the link for the newest freewrite: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-109-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-yard-sale

We always get a lot from our grandparents even if think we don't. Thanks for stopping by and leaving the next link.

So beautiful :) :)

I am happy to hear that you like it. Thank you for your love in commenting and reesteming it 💚

Nice! I love this! The wind really does leave its writing all across the world. The wear on the ground, the lines in the mountains, everything as it flies about :)

Wow. What a BEAUTIFUL visual. I really love this :)

I’m also helping out with prompt delivery today! If you want, here is today’s #freewrite prompt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43