Freewrite - Callous

in #freewrite7 years ago

callous.jpg

This is a freewrite to this prompt

Freewrites can be wonderful - and sometimes, they are not. Join the fun!! Write with us!

Callous

When I saw callous, my first thought went to feet. Then I double-checked myself and figured it means somebody who is untouchable - emotionally and all of that. Just to make sure, I went to the trusty dictionary - something I frequently do.
First, I thought that only I do that because I am a foreigner and am not always sure what the exact meaning of a word is. But the more I studied English, the more I found that language lovers also love dictionaries. Because you learn so much form them. And words have so many meanings - the same word.
Like callous. You can describe callous hands with this word. And it doesn't mean that the hands are mean and don't care that they are wrapped around a throat, squeezing hard and the person is getting blue in the face, sputtering, trying to beg for mercy but the calloused hands don't care.
No that is not what it means. It means they are showing that hard work has been done with them. Areas are tough, callouses have grown to protect those hands from getting hurt.
Like my forefinger on my right hand is starting to develop a callous from using the built-in mouse on my laptop so much.
Mouse is another word like that. I really like the mouse which helps me to maneuver on the computer but I don't like the mouse which is trying to eat my fruit in the kitchen. Actually, that one is dead and I was very callous about this execution.
Fun fact. When runners get a pedicure they will not allow to even have the tiniest part of their calluses removed. They would pay for that dearly at their next race.

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Home Remedies for a Cold

In the Garden

Henry- A Short Story

For a Friend

Author Reading - Nose Hair

Author Reading - Oh Tannenbaum

A typical prompt

Weird Sky

Freewriter Challenge

Rocky the Super Mom

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Language is such an interesting thing! Two homonyms that I like are "doctor" and "patient". "The patient patient witnessed the doctor doctor the document!"

It's ironic that many patients aren't patient at all ;)

Haha, too true!

Also with runners, it depends on where the callous is on their feet. The week before marathons around Antwerp are my busiest weeks as a pedicure.

Glad to have stumbled upon you as I follow the Steemit breadcrumb trail looking for interesting folks.

I have given your freewrite a whirl: You can read my offering here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ldacey-laforge/freewrite-callous

Upvoted/Followed I invite you to pop by mine. I am an artist/writer/lightworker with much to say.

I wish you a happy and creative 2018 and look forward to getting to virtually know you over the coming months.

xox

so glad you stumbled upon me so to speak :) I will visit you for sure. We need more lightworkers in this world. More than ever!

In Italian, we say "ci ho fatto il callo" (I developed a callus over it) to mean "I've got used to it"...so, being callous isn't always a bad thing.
Also, mason's hands and musician's hands are both callous, but the first are seen as ugly, the second as beautiful.

this is great!!! when I saw this prompt I knew I was going to have to look it up also :D as it's a funny kind of a word.......as my next thought was callous hands lolll Love that you wrote what I was thinking :D
Miss my #freewrites but so very tired..........will be back soon though. <3 Love You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48