Rocky the Super Mom

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


While browsing through my pictures, I came across this video of Rocky - the super mom and her latest batch of chicks.

She has set on at least 4 clutches and they are always huge. This one had 18 chicks - so did the very first one she hatched out.

I gave 6 to my grandkids to raise by hand and Rocky took care of the rest.

Here they are around 6 weeks old. Their bodies are already feathered in but their heads are still down. The cuteness of the first day is gone. Still, they are pretty cute even as almost teenagers.

A bit earlier, I came back from feeding the now full grown girls who just started laying a few weeks ago.

In the video, the chicks are helping us to divert bags and bags of cabbage from the landfill. At the time, my friend Stephanie was working for a company making organic Sauerkraut and Kimchi and lots of outer cabbage leaves would have ended up in the trash.

Chickens are great for turning waste into eggs and fertile soil...

This is a contribution to the #sevendayDtubeChallenge

@sergiomendes is running a Seven Day DTube Challenge

Rules:

  • 1 Original video per day
  • During 7 days consecutive
  • Uploaded on Dtube
  • First hashtag: #sevendaysDtubechallenge
  • Tag 1 friend each day

Nomination time:
I want to nominate... Everyone

Anyone is free to join the fun and participate even if You have not been nominated.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I loved having chickens when we were farming. My condo association frowns on them, so now I have to enjoy other people's chickens! Thanks!

Ha, we have to change your condo association!!! There have been huge legalize chicken movements here!! You were farming? woman, we need you to write more with us - tell us all your stories!! Curious minds want to know!! lol

Yep...450 acres of corn, hay and soybeans and 80 head of Angus cattle. A few pigs, chickens, rabbits, and a couple fruit trees and berry bushes and a big garden. Then we had a drought. So we borrowed heavily to put in irrigation....Then interest rates went to 22% in the1980s and we lost it all. Went on to build and operate a truck stop on the Interstate for 10years. And a bicycle shop. And went to school and became a massage therapist and opened a store at the massage school to sell textbooks and massage tables to the students... Sometimes I feel like I've done it all!

Oh no!! The bank took it!!! Those "@#@#**!!!! you put in your interpretation of these symbols!!! So hate them. So many small people have lost everything to get a few to be super rich. Arghhhhhhhhh

Oh, and my daughter was the driving force behind getting our city ordinance changed so people here can now have 3 chickens in town.

Ermagherd they are so cute! I can't wait 'till I can has chicks :)

You will, you will!!! soon :)

Ihih You misspelled my name but i forgive you ehehehe... will vheck the video later for now I am going to resteem it eheeheh ❤ hope ypu are having fun 😊

so sorry!! going to fix it!! We are close to Mexico and lots of Mendez last names here. Fixing now!!!

No worries it is all good. The chicks are so cute eheheh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56