Weird Sky

in #sky6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

A little while ago, my husband and I were driving towards a restaurant to meet my son and his family. As we were driving by a particularly large light display, he suddenly asked me if I had seen the weird light.

I told him that I thought that is was a very large display and looked a bit like a giraffe but it is not that weird.

"No, look at the sky!!"

No can do while driving. and that was the end of that, I thought.

We parked and I did look up at the sky and saw a beautiful crescent moon.

You all are steemians and I don't have to tell you what came next. I grabbed my camera and started looking for a spot to get a picture without the interference of streetlights and such.

Stepping up on a boulder, I glanced to my right and saw this.

Imgur

What????

Then my phone went off with my other son, who lives 5 mi west of us, texting me to step outside and look at the sky. I was way ahead of him!!

Imgur

Look at that tail of that whatever-it-might-be thing in the sky.

So weird.

Imgur

Of course, I was trying to get as many pictures of it as possible and not for the first time wished that I had a better camera. This is all taken with my iPhone 6.

Imgur

But who knows, I might not want to schlepp a bigger camera around with me all the time and have in my purse like my handy phone.

And guess what, in my excitement over the weird formation in the sky, I forgot to turn my camera to the left and snap a picture of the moon. So, I have to leave you with another cloud picture.

Imgur

What do you think this might be?

Update: As you can see in the comments, several people knew what this was. It was Space X - a rocket launch of a communication satellite that took place from Vandenberg Air Force Base in Lompoc California. People saw it all over California and as far away as Arizona and Nevada.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Freewriter Challenge

Rocky the Super Mom

Freewrite Prompt Nose Hair

The Garden Knight

Garden of Fragrance - Market Friday

Dackel and Friends Planning a Jailbreak

Buddha’s Hand

I won a Silver Piece - Thank you so much @coolbowser

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Hey @mariannewest this was actually Space X it was a launch that took place from Vandenberg Air Force Base in Lompoc California we also saw it from Morro Bay, was said to you could see it pretty much anywhere on the California coast, and at the same time I a little bit right before Japan actually launched a rocket it's pretty amazing to see though. That cloud was from the burnoff.

Yes. I found out through the comments here. But last night, I had no idea! probably should update the post LOL

Hi @mariannewest! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

OMG! That is crazy! Maybe this formed after a dry run from Santa and his reindeer. HaHa! Whatever it is, I am glad you were able to get a photo of this "thing." Tip!

That muts be it!!! Santa!!Why didn't I think about that! lol

That is a weird but oddly beautiful light in the sky. You did a fantastic job capturing it.

Thank you!! Turns out it was a rocket launch. but one starts thinking when you look up and see this!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 06:50:11
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 104.45/200.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

this truely does look weird! Besides just being able to guess, that some wind and airpreasure formed it, I learned that "schlepp" is used in English ;-) Ganz herzliche und weihnachtliche Wochenendgrüße an dich und deine Familie!!!

Und ein frohes Fest!!! Ja, Schlepp ist von Jiddish und viele der Woerter sind ins Englisch aufgenommen worden :)

Huh! What a coincidence. I just read the news on weird sky sighting in USA freaking out, which turns out to be rockets, and you posted about the sky too 😁

An Eerie Object Streaked Across The LA Sky And People Freaked Out. Here's What It Really Was. https://www.buzzfeed.com/salvadorhernandez/a-rocket-streaked-across-the-la-sky-and-everyone-freaked-out?utm_term=.zcNzrOEwJ4#.zcNzrOEwJ4

Thank you for the article!! it really was weird!

Love it, so glad you saw it and was able to take a picture! And you're right about Steemians 😉

I know, right? that is all we do. Picture!!! Of everything!! 🤑 😜

Space X launch! Great captures!!! My son was also extremely enthusiastic about it. I only saw it after the fact, since I was in the midst of dyeing leather. But the post halo was still pretty wild!

It was so weird. I had no idea that we were launching rockets around here and according to the article @thekitchenfairy posted, people could see it in Arizona and Nevada! i wonder how many conspiracy theories were born last night. hahaha

I saw one from youtuber richie from boston within 15 min. "Plasma weapon" he said, lol

hahaha! I knew people were going to go wild on that one!!

Oh also, hubby said it caused at least 2 accidents on his commute home, looky-loos. I wonder if Elon Musk will pay? Hehe

I am not surprised!! He should!!! Bad timing to have that during the Friday evening commute right before Christmas when people already drive like they are mad!

So weird, and u catch it by photo, amazing!!

yes, it is weird and I am lucky that I was able to catch the pics!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49