Traditional American Macaroni Salad (VEGAN, Oil Free & GF) - Food Photography

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

I’m not really a big fan of celebrating a country’s birthday for many reasons, so today is just like any other day. But also, I’m Canadian (living in the US). So our day was on the 1st ;) haha. However I thought it would be cool to create something that I always loved when I was a kid. 

Now, if you‘ve ever tried KFC’s macaroni salad, and you loved it - this tastes absolutely IDENTICAL. So you know already just how much you’re going to love this! 

I made this for a potluck I went to this passed weekend, and everyone loved it! This potluck had all kinds of amazing vegan food I had never explored before - like jackfruit nachos! It was amazing. But after going to a number of potlucks this passed weekend I’m ready to get back to clean eating! Haha

This recipe calls for vegan mayo, but I do have an oil free option for you! My Tofu Mayonnaise is the way to go! Just sub out the vegan mayo for the tofu mayo & the recipe will be GF & Oil Free! 🙌🏼

Traditional American Macaroni Salad (VEGAN)

  • Prep Time: 10 minutes
  • Cook Time: 10 minutes
  • Total Time: 20 minutes
  • Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 full package of gluten free brown rice macaroni + 1 cup of gluten free shells (I added them because I ran out of macaroni 😭)
  • 4 large celery sticks, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 2 cups of vegan mayo (if you want an oil free option, I have a Tofu Mayonnaise recipe you can use instead!)
  • 1 tbsp yellow mustard
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • garlic powder to taste

Instructions:

  1. Cook pasta until Al Dente! (As per package instructions!)
  2. While Pasta is cooking, dice up all veggies and place into a large bowl
  3. To make the sauce, add mayo, mustard, ACV, and spices to a serate bowl and mix well
  4. Once pasta is done, strain and rinse with ice cold water! This is important, we do not want to mix anything with warm pasta as it will mush. Let the pasta cool, or rinse with cold water for a couple minutes and this will work fine
  5. Once pasta is cooled, add to the big bowl with the veggies, add the sauce & fold it all together gently. I topped mine with some dried dill (So good!)
  6. Serve & ENJOY! 🍝

Connect With Me:

Website • Facebook • Instagram • YouTube • Pinterest

🍝Check out my other healthy vegan eats!🍝

Sort:  

I like any celebrations as I like having days off :D

Your salad looks great! I never had it at KFC but I can imagine yours is more delicious! I'm also making oil free mayo from cashews. I have never tried the tofu one but I'll use your recipe next time I'll be making something with mayo :)

Thank you for sharing another amazing recipe with us!!!

Nice! I try to keep my diet low fat, and had to come up with a way to make mayo low fat & it worked! Definitely try it out next time!! :) thank you for loving it! ❤️ @delishtreats

yummy

But delicious!🔥 I invite you to myself ;)

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Nice recipe ...
awesome photography like it and upvoted!

Thank you so much! 🙏🏼 @mianadnan3218

Your picture says that, I need to be try.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61179.86
ETH 2631.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46