Buddha's Hand - Monday Fruits and Veggies Challenge

Imgur

Today is Monday and the lovely Lena is calling on us all to show her some fruit and veggies.

Buddha's hand is one of my favorite fruit. It belongs in the citrus family but it doesn't have any juice at all.

A Buddha's hand is a citron - only peel and flesh. And it smells wonderful!!! Actually, the fruit is often used as an offering in Buddhist temples. It looks so unusual and freshens the air.

Let me show you another one before telling you more about this fruit. And, btw. it is the middle of December and that is what the sky's look like right now. We had the driest November since 17 years and so far, no rain in December either.
Last year, we were flooded at this time. Not a good thing either...

Here is a single fruit for you.

Imgur

Besides smelling fantastic, the Buddha's hand also taste very good. One way to use it is to grate the peel for Lemon zest and add it to any dish you think a little lemon flavor would enhance.

Or add pieces to soups or rice to give it a bit flavor.

This is what the tree looks like.

Imgur

The leaves also smell wonderful when crushed and they make a very tasty tea!

Just boil the leaves in some water for about 10 minutes.

But now, I have to show you some more of those weird and yet wonderful looking fruits.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Today, I decided to make some candied Buddha's hand. But I have to show you that later. For now, let me show you the inside of one of the fruit.

Imgur

Later, I will show you how to make candied citron - Buddha hand.

There is also a citron which looks more like a large lemon. That one is often used during a religious holiday and is called Etrog.

Different cultures use the fruit for jams, to make syrup, and for pickles.

So far, I only made candied flesh and syrup. Pickles coming soon.

If you like to read more about this fruit, here is the wikipedia entry

The Fruit and Veggies Monday is a weekly competition initiated by Lena from @lenasveganliving . It is lots of fun and you can read all about it here

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

I won a Silver Piece - Thank you so much @coolbowser

The Dude

My first Upload to Soundcloud - Podcast about the Blockchain

Weekend Freewrite December 9, 2017

Too Many Sweets

Claudia In Milano, Italy

A Photo Story - bahbahra told us to smell the flowers

A Typical Weekday Prompt

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

Joel Salatin - Interview and Blog Post

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
1.png

Oh wow!!! thank you so much!!! Now comes the hard part!! Judging!!! You have to fill me in what you want me to do!! thank you so much!!!

You are most welcome Dear Marianne and thank you so much for acquiring about the role of GUEST JUDGE so quickly. That's the spirit I wish to receive every week 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Please let me know if you are on Steemit Chat or Discord, so we can communicate.

I am on discord. On steemchat too, but I forgot how to log in :(
Marianne#6102

To log in to Steemit Chat is to use same password as for Steemit, but Discord is fine. We can also communicate via email. You can send it to be from my blog: https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living/contact

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 2/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 07:03:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 73.35/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for visiting :)

Never seen this before. Such a cool and strange citrus fruit. Hope you guys get some rain soon. Start of the dry season here.

Thank you, Amy. We really, really need it!! all the plants are crying.... I even killed a rosemary plant which is supposedly used to no water - but not that long of no water....

We had a severe drought here in Cambodia last year.. much of the rice crops died. I'll keep my fingers crossed for some rain ;)

Thank you!!! I am hoping - we have been in a long drought before. Not good.

These are quite marvelous variations of the Buddha's hand wow. I know only very little about his mind blowing fruit, so your information is very valuable. Thank you so much Dear Marianne for shraing ot with us and good luck 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thank you so much!1 I was going to add the candied fruit making process - but clear ran out of time. Next week..... :)

Wow! I have never heard about a fruit named Buddha's Hand. I wouldn't have recognized it as a fruit. It looks strange, almost a little bit creepy! Very interesting to read about it! Thank you for this!

some of these really do look creepy :)

Vegetables fruits
we're happy to eat.
We are healthy
I have a lot of strength.
Vitamins in them
important for everyone,
for a small person
and for an adult.

My sincere congratulations on the selection of materials and very interesting descriptions 🙂

thank you so much!!

this fruit looks horribly hee hee I would probably not risked eating it :))))

haha - those all turned out a bit gnarly lol

Beautiful - I can see why you won this weeks contest. Happy Steeming ❤️❤️

Thank you so much!!!

This is a fascinating fruit! I've never seen it! Great photos!

Thank you!! I had never known about it before I got a tree - now I love it. such a conversation starter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55