Dining Out - Paragon Hotel

in #food6 years ago

Paragon Hotel

Paragon Hotel.jpg
Hard to get a shot of the hotel without also having the MacDonald's that is the front corner of it in frame

In the city, right opposite Circular Quay and across the road from Custom's House is the Paragon Hotel. About half of it's ground floor is now a MacDonald's, but the rear half of the ground floor, and I assume all of the upstairs is still the hotel. I've been there twice, but never seen upstairs as it seems to be popular for private functions, and this evening it entertained us with fancy dress costumes wandering through the bar on their way to their party.

Paragon Hotel Interior.jpg
Not the easiest interior to photograph with the pillars, but shows that there is a back area as well as the front bar area

I was there to meet up with a couple of friends for dinner before we headed off to see Welcome to Nightvale's Live show at the Opera House (I'll write about that another time). We ordered food, grabbed some drinks and found a table to chat at while we waited for our food to come. It would have been a good 10 minutes, and possibly 15 when the first dish arrived, and a couple more before the other 2 arrived, but when they did, we all had quite decent meals.

First to arrive was the splurge order. Crispy Skin Atlantic Salmon, served with a salad consisting of rocket, baby spinach, peas, feta and pine nuts. My companion that ordered it was very happy at the limited amount of rocket in the mixture, providing it as a balancing flavour, rather than overpowering everything else, and the Salmon was very well cooked and did indeed have crispy skin.

Paragon Hotel Crispy Skin Atlantic Salmon.jpg
While I hate stuff served on the chips, serving the fish on a salad doesn't bother me nearly as much

On my advice my other companion went with the Chicken Schnitzel, which came with chips, house slaw, and gravy. After moving things around to make it possible to eat, she was very happy with the choice and before it seemed possible her plate was completely empty. Decent chips with a good schnitzel are hard to beat.

Paragon Hotel Chicken Schnitzel.jpg
I can't wait for this idea that serving meat on top of chips is a good thing goes away

Finally we have my dinner. I went with their Fried Chicken Burger, which contained the house slaw, fried chicken and a chipotle mayo in a nicely toasted brioche bun. The amount of heat from the mayo surprised me at first, as I'd forgotten if it said it had a spicy sauce on the menu (and it isn't on their online menu at all) but it was certainly the right sauce for the burger as it paired very well with the slaw on the other side of the chicken. The side of chips were nice too, and good for cleaning up the dripped sauces.

Paragon Hotel Fried Chicken Burger.jpg
Not quite sure how they got the sauce on the outside of the bun lid though

It's not the cheapest place, but compared to other nearby locations it's reasonably priced, and the food is certainly good. I was disappointed to see on my credit card though that they seem to charge a card fee that wasn't mentioned or advertised clearly anywhere. It was also more than the allowable 1.5% and I'll be paying them a visit in the near future to talk to someone about it.

Other than the credit card fee issue, it was a nice place to meet and a good meal had by all three of us. And the show afterwards was enjoyed by us all also.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

At Thai
Hotto Motto
King of Kebabs
Charcoal Kingdom
Jimmy's Recipe
Le Meilleur Gout Bakery
Fudd's
Palais @ Semaphore
Super Mario Odyssey High Tea
Chur Burger


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sydney Meetup : February 25 : 3 pm : The Bavarian @ World Square

Worlds Greatest Shave.jpg

Donations/Sponsorship always accepted - Sponsor me here

Actual Shave Date is looking like being the first weekend in March

Sort:  

Nice review and great pictures, but I'm gonna have to stop looking at these posts while I'm cutting down on carbs! Chips! Brioche! OMG!

There's zero carbs in looking at them :) Let me eat all the carbs for you instead!

Thanks mate. Now that could be a plan! Eating out can be tricky avoiding carbs so you may have to follow me around or give me an address for doggie bag delivery LOL

I'm a big fan of the doggie bag, and quite often have a second meal from my dining out locations. Waste is such a huge issue, and I just don't understand the need for serving sizes to be so huge. I'd happily pay 60% for half the serving size in most places

Hey ya @ratticus...

Maccas are just everywhere... like flies during summer. :)

Cheers mate!

If renting out half their ground floor to a chain keeps the hotel alive, I'm fine with that. They do seem to do a decent trade as they've been pretty busy without being packed both times I've been in and the couple of times I've looked while wandering past

Great honest review! Thank you for sharing.

I try to be honest with my reviews. I'm not going to shower praise on a place that doesn't deserve it, as it's just going to make others distrust my views and recommendations. I'm pretty easy to please though, so I like a lot of food places.

I also tend to only review places I enjoyed the dining experience, as it's a lot easier to write positive things than to criticise a business, especially when it may have just been a once off thing.

Why do some places put the meat on top of the chips? It makes the ones under the meat really soggy o_O

goatsig

Some? It's pretty much the standard way of plating 'steak and chips'. And it's worse when the gravy is already poured over the meat too!

The only reason I've heard that makes even the slightest sense is to keep the chips warmer, but the plate should be doing that!

I said "some" because the only place we go out to with anything resembling regularity is Sizzler's and granted we don't always order actual meals (we usually just get salad and dessert bar) but when we have I don't remember any steaks being on top of chips.

If the chips are cooling down by the time it hits the table they're taking too long between plating and serving! :O

goatsig

Yup, or at least, time between leaving the fryer and getting to the table, which can be a sign of not timing the cooking properly so both components are ready at the same time. Which shouldn't be too hard with just 2 things to go onto a plate!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hello there!

This post has been upvoted as a thank you for supporting @sexywhalebot.

Have a sexy and profitable day! : ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43