Dining Out - Jimmy's Recipe

in #food6 years ago

Jimmy's Recipe

2018-01-25 17.20.22.jpg
Jimmy's in the Galleries is a long narrow side of the walkway shop, but still has plenty of tables and chairs inside as well as the ones in the alleyway

I've been walking past this place on my way to gaming pretty much every week for the last year, and keep saying to myself that I should try it. The main reason I hadn't already was it was cash only, though I noticed on Thursday when I was there that they have some eftpos facilities now, I didn't use them as I had cash. I'm not certain on the conditions for eftpos, so I'd advise having cash with you just incase.

I decided on the Chicken Laksa, having not had a laksa in a long while, and their menu noting it was popular. While waiting I was surprised by one of my gaming buddies coming in and ordering, so it was good to have company while I ate as well.

2018-01-25 17.23.27.jpg
As usual there's a nice slick of red through the top as some chilli oils and other oil separate themselves from the coconut base. Little stir and they go right back into it all

The bowl doesn't look that large, and I've certainly had larger bowls served to me elsewhere, but it was full of things in the soup, from the vermicelli and possibly udon noodles, to bean sprouts and spring onion. And of course plenty of shredded chicken. There was also a couple of pieces of fried tofu, and of course, fresh chillies. With all that stuffed into the soup, I was surprised with just how much liquid was actually in the bowl, most notably when I was serving myself the leftovers the next day, as I only got through about half the bowl.

It was quite tasty, all the components were well prepared and cooked properly, and the heat level was pretty close to where I like it, but there wasn't anything special that jumped out at me. It's a nice solid laksa, and worth having. I'll probably try one of their other dishes at some point, as they look pretty good too. The laksa seemed a bit slow to come out compared to the dish my friend had (one of the curries), but there is more to do with the laksa than plating some rice and a curry I guess.

2018-01-25 17.23.40.jpg
Our view from the end of our long table of the world going past. Table seats about 10, with potted plants down the middle

Even with the walkway right there, I didn't find the noise from the passing people got in the way of conversation either, which is always something I'm concerned about when dining in an alleyside eatery.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Le Meilleur Gout Bakery
Fudd's
Palais @ Semaphore
Super Mario Odyssey High Tea
Chur Burger
Hotel Victor
The Lighthouse Wharf
Burger Project
Pancakes on the Rocks
Thairiffic

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png


Worlds Greatest Shave.jpg

Donations still being accepted - Sponsor me here
Shout out to @Jagged for his generous donation. Thanks a lot

Sort:  

Wow! The environment is cool. I just wish i can visit here

Time to save up for a holiday?

Yeah yeah!!

Great post! It's very well written!

Thanks. Nice subliminal linking :)

Laksa is always good

My laksa is only tofu, tempeh, and sometimes Seitan now but still yummy 😁

I've had some not-good laksa, and it was still better than no laksa.

Nice I used to frequent Jimmy's a lot when I worked in the city, it was a solid laksa that hit the spot. The most famous in Sydney that I'm aware of is Malay Chinese on Hunter St - I'd recommend that if you haven't tried it before.

I'll have to give that a try. You've been pretty good with your suggestions in the past, so I'm looking forward to trying there.

All good! Let me know how you go. I don't think they open late though so make sure to go during the day so you don't turn up and find it's closed !!

Oh, right, will check their hours. I had the idea of going there on Thursday before gaming, but if they close early that might not be possible. Or it might be, but I just have to be in the city a bit earlier...

I'm not much for spicy stuff due to my acid reflux but that looks good x.x I like soups and noodles a lot so yeah. I like the plants in between the tables for some reason (I usually find them as dividers for like a booth or something). Would be awesome if they made it into herbs lol. Pick your own xD

I totally agree with that. Would be great if they were fresh herbs that you could use to dress/season your dish with. However this was the only such table in the location, with all the others being regular chair and table locations, and would make it a little awkward for actual operations. Also, people are frustrating and would likely take too much and end up killing off the herbs instead of sensible use.

Would work best in a Vietnamese place where adding fresh herbs to dishes is very common too.

Ah, true. There are people who tend to get more than they need. Still, it'll be good as a centerpiece to the whole restaurant. Probably a no-touch-eyes-only zone though now that you've pointed out the downside of people having full access.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43