Super Mario Odyssey High Tea - Melba Restaurant

in #food7 years ago

One of my best friends lives in Melbourne, and on our way back to Sydney we're staying with her family for a couple of days. As part of celebrating her birthday we decided to book to go to a themed high tea at Melba Restaurant. Given that we're both gaming fans, it was a pretty good option to go to the Super Mario Odyssey high tea that they're currently running.

High Tea Table.jpg
The table setting and our starting drinks

Upon arriving at the restaurant (which is inside the Langham Hotel) our waiter explained the process of a high tea, since none of us had been before, and talked about the different things that our package came with, including the various tea options we could have. We opted to start with the already set out Raspberry Cordial and a mocktail while we waited for the food to arrive.

High Tea Food.jpg
The 3 layer presentation of all the food items. 3 of each item for the 3 of us

High Tea Top Plate.jpg
A better shot of just the top shelf of the cakes

High Tea Nuggets box.jpg
A little box with nuggets in it for the hot component of our high tea

High Tea Nuggets.jpg
3 little nuggets wasn't exactly what I expected in the box, but with all the other food I'm glad there wasn't more

There were a whole lot of positives, including the box lid including the label 'Luncheon Kingdom' and the glassware being an Italian named 'Luigi' (could have been a coincidence, but a good one anyway). The presentation was great, and the Toad Mushroom Macarons, and gold coin cupcakes were good, with the exception of the 'gold coin' not being actually gold coloured.

The best thing on the table though was the unthemed scones, which were perfectly cooked and soft inside. With strawberry jam, lemon curd and/or cream, I could have eaten more of them.

None of the other food was bad, but it was all things that could be easily made at home. The 'Cappy toastie' was a still sealed baby bell cheese, a slice of cherry tomato on a round of bread. The sandwiches were nice and everything was made well, but for the price ($59/person) it was honestly a bit below what I'd expected.

I will be considering going to another high tea at some point, as I certainly enjoyed it, but I'll be looking for cheaper options and non themed places.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Chur Burger
Hotel Victor
The Lighthouse Wharf
Burger Project
Pancakes on the Rocks
Thairiffic
Bitton Gourmet
Zues Street Greek
Madame Nhu
La Bufala

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

Nice photos. Looks like you've had a good time. You tried something new and different. When we go to Melbourne I know that I should avoid this place because there are six of us and I need to find something cheaper. Thank you for sharing with us.

I get the need for something cheaper. My Melbourne host did have a suggestion for next time, which is out in the suburbs somewhere, and as such, much cheaper than those in the city centre.

I kind of want to take my mother in law to a high tea as she seems to enjoy those things. Not sure how I'd go though 😂

I was a little concerned, especially since I don't do tea, but I went fine. So much sugar though. All three of us had sugar overload afterwards, and 2 of us napped for at least an hour to get through the sugar coma

So don't bring the kids then XD

goatsig

I guess that depends how much of a sugar high you want them to have :)

Good plan would be leave them home and bring leftovers back for them like we did. Even though they wouldn't give us a take away container due to 'health and safety', which we reminded them is a BS excuse, so we used our nuggets boxes and took everything we didn't eat with us anyway

I have been to Melba for dinner but not afternoon tea. The theme was fun but the price seems too high. Nice photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44