Dining Out - Hotto Motto

in #food6 years ago

Hotto Motto

2018-02-08 17.30.47.jpg
Nice and bright front of store, and clear pricing. also seemed to be free sauces and seasonings on the right end

In my continuation of trying all the places in the Lower Ground Food Court at Galleries (and eventually all the food places in the building), I visited Hotto Motto for a quick dinner before gaming. They had tempted me a few times previously, but like Madame Nhu, the store comes right at the start of my natural wandering around the food court, so I see it often but aren't ready to make a decision yet.

This time I just decided, "Yes, I want Japanese". That and the Onigiri and Friendly staff member (Yu) convinced me. I wasn't that hungry so it was easy (and cheap) to just get a couple of things. I decided that a 3 piece Kaarage Chicken would go well with the Japanese Pickles Onigiri. I didn't like the look of any of the other drink options, so just went with my stock standard coke.

2018-02-08 17.36.21.jpg
My order. Very simple, but was certainly enough food for me on this evening

The chicken was very tender, and quite hot, having been fried after I ordered. It didn't have much of a batter or crumb on it, but there was plenty of flavour. The pieces were 2-3 bites each, though I could imagine some people just shoving the whole piece in their mouth at once.

The onigiri was interesting to me. It was strangely wrapped with a plastic sleeve over the nori to protect it from the moisture in the rice. I'm not sure I'd have been able to manipulate the nori out of the wrapper without sitting down and having a stable surface to operate on. That and the plastic's 'easy open' point didn't work for mine. It also seemed to involve a fair amount of shifting the rice back and forth, which could just be me being incompetent, but wasn't the simplest onigiri I've had in Sydney even.

Once it was unpackaged and I'd re-wrapped the nori around the triangle of rice and pickled vegetables, I discovered that it could have done with just a touch of water to moisten the nori. I ate it as it was anyway, and it gave a bit of a different texture to a serving that wasn't lacking in crunch. There was quite a reasonable amount of pickle in it, and if anything it was crying out for something to balance out the pickle, rather than something to give a bit more texture and crunch to it. Maybe some soft flaked salmon would have been a good addition. It was however delicious, and I was tempted to buy one of the other flavours for my walk to gaming.

I'm going to try some of the other dishes from here in the future, and if these 2 items are anything to go by, I'll be quite happy with them also.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

King of Kebabs
Charcoal Kingdom
Jimmy's Recipe
Le Meilleur Gout Bakery
Fudd's
Palais @ Semaphore
Super Mario Odyssey High Tea
Chur Burger
Hotel Victor
The Lighthouse Wharf

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png


Worlds Greatest Shave.jpg

Donations/Sponsorship always accepted - Sponsor me here

Actual Shave Date is looking like being the first weekend in March

Sort:  

Mmm simple with a cute wrapped sushi

or should i say Onigiri

yeah. Triangle shaped rice wrapped in seaweed is a bit more of a mouthful than just 'onigiri' :) And they're so yummy and decently filling and cheap. What's not to love!

You've tempted my taste buds now :D
Thanks for sharing.

Tempting people with food seems to be my greatest skill these days. Thanks for dropping past

I will give into temptation :D

"Lead me not into temptation, but... Oh who am I kidding, I know a shortcut, come this way" - Unknown, but I like it

The chicken looks really good! Though yeh I can see some people with immense gobs being able to shovel the whole thing in. I'll have to refresh my memory on what the other thing is by going to a Japanese place I think.

goatsig

I don't remember where in Perth there was places that did good Onigiri, but I'm guessing they'd exist. Refresher courses should be <$2.50, and totally worth it

Hello there!

This post has been upvoted as a thank you for supporting @sexywhalebot.

Have a sexy and profitable day! : ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43