Dining Out - Pancakes on the Rocks

in #food7 years ago

Pancakes on the Rocks

I've long been a big fan of pancakes, so the opportunity to go for them is always tempting. About a month ago my now fiance and I were looking for something different to our normal, but also something that wasn't going to upset her stomach as she was being nauseous all the time (couple of weeks later we got the explanation for that! I just threw this place out as an idea, since the store in Beverly Hills isn't that far from home and it was decided.

Being that we were eating early in the evening, they were very quiet which was good, though there was a big family table on the other side of our area that was full, which kept the waitress coming past. Useful for getting refills of our drinks, since even though I asked for a jug of water she initially just brought us a small glass each. We did also both order a soft drink, so at least we weren't completely without fluids.

When it came to the food, Catherine ordered the Chicken & Mushroom, which she asked for no onion in and they said they'd try, but that they're all pre-made and just reheated to serve. They couldn't actually do it, but thankfully the pieces weren't an issue as there wasn't much in it and she enjoyed both the crepe pockets and the filling was tasty.

Pancakes on the Rocks - Seafood Crepes.jpg
This was my meal, 2 crepes stuffed with the seafood mixture and a pile of salad. Salad was actually pretty good

I ordered the Seafood Crepe, as I'm a sucker for seafood. It was pretty decent, though the filling could have been chunkier. As usual the sauces all merged together but were tasty enough and exactly what I'd expected from the style of restaurant. I still prefer Pancake Parlour, which I last went to earlier in the year when I was in Melbourne.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Thairiffic
Bitton Gourmet
Zues Street Greek
Madame Nhu
La Bufala
Mr Crackles
Pho Saigon
Gelato Messina and Pizza Design Co
Barista and Cook
Hurstville double feature

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

I thought it is a lumpia, but I was wrong, it is a pancake

Thought it was salmon at first sight, can't imagine a seafood stuffed pancake at all, don't think we would be able to get something like that over here in the Netherlands.
Have eaten some meat stuffed ones in Hungary though, it was unusual for me, but I loved it!

I'll often get a meat stuffed one, and they're usually crepes to be thin for the wrapping process. or the meat will be on as a topping to things like a potato pancake. not something you want all the time, but certainly good for an occasional thing

In hungary the tend to stuff them with leftover goulash and cover them in sauce and sour creme, then cook them some more in the oven, should you ever come across it, make sure you try it out 😊

Oh I will have to do that. Goulash is something I like to make, so maybe I'll make my own poor versions of it at some point

I don't think I've ever tried meat stuffed pancake/crepe thingies, even when we used to do the Freo markets regularly and had the friend with the crepe stall that we visisted every week, me and the sprogs always had the nutella ones XD

Glad the onion didn't upset C's stomach (is that why you didn't want onions in or does she just not like onions?)

goatsig

Onions are one of the things she doesn't like, I think because of how it reacts with her stomach

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44