Tiny Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Mini foods are just more fun, aren’t they?

I think there should be a few more cookies in the world, especially if they're mini.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (3).jpg

Am I the only one that seems to have rose-colored childhood food memories? I mean, I know that I’m repeating myself, plus, I’m pretty sure that in most cases my memory is way over exaggerated, but it’s easy to forget this and get stuck craving an old favorite treat and wanting it to taste exactly like it used to.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (9).jpg

I recently remembered this one food memory that stood out in particular, gem cookies. My mom had this friend who would bring her these delicious little bite-size cookies from a local bakery near her house and every time I saw that familiar white paper bag with the pink letters I would get so excited because I knew they were those cookies.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (2).jpg

I wanted to do my best to recreate the specific flavor of these little sweets because they were so good! They weren’t your typical dry, crusty frosted shortbreads, they were melt-in-your mouth buttery and had the perfect ratio of frosting to cookie. Plus, the itty-bittyness of them made them perfect for popping into your mouth one right after another. So addictive.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies..jpg

Something else that was kind of unique to said cookies was the icing that was tall and buttery, yet it didn’t smash when you piled the cookies into a bag. I’ve never made a frosting with all of these characteristics but I was determined to find one. I knew that it would need to have egg whites or meringue powder in order to dry hard but it also needed to be thick and pipe-able like buttercream. My final result seemed pretty close to what I was going for so I’m pretty happy with it.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (5).jpg

I actually made these weeks ago, but I had so many recipes that I wanted to post that I thought I’d push these back a bit and save them for now. Seeing them all clustered together kind of reminds me of fireworks so I thought they would be fitting for any celebration. The fun thing about them is that you can make them any color you want so they are the perfect little treat to share with friends and family all year long. Just think how cute pastels would be for Easter or red white and blue for summer! I personally went with pink and brown because those were the easiest colors to make all-natural since I used beet puree and cocoa.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (6).jpg

And of course, if you don’t feel like taking the time to make them so small, feel free to make them as big as you’d like. I don’t have a cookie cutter the size that I wanted so I used the back of a piping tip and it worked really well to get the tiny circles (except for the few the wanted to get stuck, but you just have to push them out with a toothpick). I can be a bit persistent when I set my mind on an idea #Obsessive Much.

Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (8).jpg

However you want to do them is up to you. I just really hope you love them!

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Lightened Up Spinach & Hearts of Palm Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Fried Jalapeño Popper Mac'n'Cheese Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (7).jpg

Sort:  

Looks awesome. Please share the recipe :)

Loading...

They looks great!! And your photography is awesome!! Thanks for sharing!! 😃👍

That is so sweet of you to say @alovelymess. That means a lot coming from a photographer as good as you!

Anything with yummy frosting is a good thing!

Totally agree!!! Thanks @lifes-a-donut!

Wow, this looks so delicious!

These little guys look so cute. I could eat bunches

I shall make you bunches!!

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: First 7 weeks of xx-votesplus: YOUR dropAhead Curation Team!

Wow.. nice, please can you send some to me, am so hungry and i need Cookies like this

Haha, I'm so with you sistah! Thanks @evelyniroh!

I can eat 1000's of those 😂😲🤤

I understand. My problem is that one is too many and eight is not enough

Yummy Cookies. Loved Them . May I have the Recipe Please ?

Yes! It's near the top of the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65304.87
ETH 3543.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49