Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

This is the only recipe for Boston cream pie that you will ever need my friends!!!

Ladies and gentlemen, you are looking at the very first Boston cream pie made by me. That’s right, I’ve never made one. In fact, I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten one either. Go on, take a nice long gander at it, don’t be shy. Isn’t it a beautiful thing?

Boston Cream Pie (13).jpg

I think it’s a beautiful thing if I do say so myself. Hey, I don’t get credit for how pretty smooth chocolate ganache looks all on its own. I’m just one in the crowd marveling at it with you. I only post recipes after they have been approved by my loyal gang of quality control taste-testers (AKA my family). This recipe has been thoroughly tested and repeated a few times now. It’s a definite keeper.

Boston Cream Pie (3).jpg

I’ve never understood why they call it Boston cream pie when it is actually a cake. A very, very yummy cake, but a cake just the same. You think it’s too late to try to change the name now that it’s been around for over 150 years. Yeah, I thought so. Oh well.

Boston Cream Pie (4).jpg

So the inspiration for this cake came from my need to use some egg yolks. I’ve been in the middle of an egg imbalance because I refuse to be wasteful whenever possible. It’s this hilarious cycle that starts when you decide to make a recipe that uses only egg whites and so you just save the yolks for later.

Boston Cream Pie (8).jpg

Okay, then later rolls around and you find a recipe to use those extra yolks. The problem is, you need a few more yolks than you’ve got so you crack a few more eggs and save the whites. Then your back in the same boat, only this time you have to use the whites. Then the cycle repeats.

Boston Cream Pie (10).jpg

This all sounds like one of those brain-teaser math problems we used to do in school, doesn’t it? Well, I’ve been trying all kinds of things to make with either just yolks or just whites and it’s pretty interesting to see how many uses there are for eggs. Do realize how many foods contain eggs? It’s crazy.

Boston Cream Pie.,.jpg

This cake happens to use about 8 yolks, plus the 2 whole eggs in the filling. I guess that may seem like a lot from the perspective of someone who doesn’t already have a bunch to use. It’s totally worth it though. Egg white omelets anyone? Hey, or you can make meringue or something with the whites, yum!

Boston Cream Pie (14).jpg

I’m not gonna lie. This cake doesn’t cut perfectly but I think that’s part of its charm. Messy usually tastes better. This is the kind of dessert that could make your entire day.

Boston Cream Pie (6).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. How to Make Crud Muffins, They’re a Thing! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Tiki Bars! Tropical Fruit Granola Bars (Vegan + GF)

  8. Mango & Young Dried Coconut Granola Breakfast Parfaits (Vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Southwest Egg Rolls + Avacado Ranch Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Almond Joy Pudding Parfaits & Coconut Cookie Dippers (vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Boston Cream Pie (11).jpg

Sort:  

Yum! This looks delicious! Can I please get the recipe? :)

Loading...

Wow... Boston cream pie Its been such a long time since I've had a peace of pie.... Thank you so much for sharing you have my up vote @mannyfig1956

Mmmmm... I'd like Boston Creme EVERYTHING please. lol It's been forever since I've had actual boston creme pie, since I usually just get my fix with the occasional doughnut, but sometimes it's nice to have the real thing.
I bet that cake is delicious, but it must also be fairly dense, using only yolks? Especially 8 of them! Wow! Have you tried the recipe using whole eggs vs just yolks?

I have not with whole eggs, maybe someday I will. Fantastic commenting. Thanks so much for taking the time @offbeatbroad

Looks amazing!! 👍👍👍👍👍

Thanks, my dear! 😄😄

Where is this recipe? 😄

Up top @uglysweater, thanks for reading, lovely! 😄😄😄😄

Haha, it loaded once I refreshed the page!
Looking forward to you making this for me! 😄

I love this cake even though it's called a pie. Who makes this stuff up? I shall call them

You are absolutely correct, who does make this stuff up?! Let me know when you get ahold of they guys in charge

Wow! This looks delicious :)

I love your blogs it make me motivated to cook and bake!

Me too! Thanks @kontora!

Boston Crème is my favorite donut...I gotta try this recipe, Thanks!

Yes, it is a great flavor for a doughnut too. I hope you enjoy this recipe @immetal6669!

OMG Drooling now !!! All over my new Chromebook I bouget with steem ! LOL! You know how much I love chocolate ! And too bad im to late to ask for the recipe , thanks for putting it in the comments , I will copy paste it and SAVE FOR SURE !! Great photos as always , thanks for sharing !! 😋😋😋 upped and resteemed!!

Oh, thank YOU for reading and being so sweet to leave a comment. Enjoy @karenmckersie!

your welcome @gringalicious ! 😋🍴😋🍴😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54