Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I’ve been all about comfort food this month and nothing says comfort like pie for dinner.

So let’s talk about these pies! I made them with ground turkey (obviously) and a mix of veggies that I can get almost everyone in my house to eat. I used broccoli, carrots, zucchini, and peas. Oh, and onions of course but that’s a given. Feel free to mix and match the veggies to your own taste. Any vegetable is going to taste good in a rich brothy stew that’s wrapped in pastry.

DSC_0478.jpg

Now let’s talk about that crust. I have to admit that this is my first encounter with phyllo dough but it will not be my last. Who knew something could be so flaky and wonderful? I was so excited when we found it at the store because I didn’t think we could get it here.

DSC_0147.jpg

It creates a slightly lighter option for these pies than a pie crust and it’s super easy too. That may be my favorite part of it. I spend plenty of time doing things the old-fashioned way but I have to admit that it’s nice to occasionally skip some steps and still achieve an amazing result. Trust me, I’ll still be rolling out pie crusts and spending all day making a bazillion tortillas because nothing beats homemade ones, but I can’t wait to try something else with phyllo. I’m thinking chocolate will be involved next time….what do you think?

DSC_0362.jpg

Anyway, my brother seriously won’t stop talking about how much he loved these and that I have to make them again. He’s the one that thinks onions are life threatening and and gives you a deer-in-headlights stair if you expect him to eat a vegetable. Luckily I’ve gotten very good at hiding them. I’m not holding my breath that he will be eating salads anytime soon but we’re getting there.

DSC_0611.jpg

And now I think I have said everything I wanted to about this recipe except that you must make it. You definitely should but I’ll leave that up to you. Maybe you’ll have more luck in resisting the powers of flaky pastry and warm turkey stew better than I can.

DSC_0567.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Fried Jalapeño Popper Mac'n'Cheese Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. How to Make Crud Muffins, They’re a Thing! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Tiki Bars! Tropical Fruit Granola Bars (Vegan + GF)

  10. Mango & Young Dried Coconut Granola Breakfast Parfaits (Vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Sort:  

Ah Zucchini! Like the taste, hate the texture, unless it's chopped really small. Did you know we call then Courgettes over here in the UK?

I did not know that, or if I did, I forgot. Thanks for the support @movievertigo

In all the excitement I forgot to upvote the post! I've just done it now! :-)

Will you share the recipe with me dear?
Cheers
@progressivechef

Loading...

This is great! Good thing about pie is that you can come up with a filling with whatever you have in your fridge pretty much, so versatile.

Thanks for the recipe @gringalicious :D lovely pictures as always

Definitely. It's super versatile @dontstopmenow!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dontstopmenow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

omg that looks bloody insane!!!!!!

'Bloody insane,' I love it. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @allasyummyfood. I know we are all super crazy busy

What a great idea, to use phyllo dough on pot pies! I usually find pot pie to be a bit too rich and heavy for me (you know, the type of food that makes you want to take a nap afterward), but this looks like it would be lighter with a better texture but still a great taste!

You might still want to take a nap - LOL. Fantastic commenting, really well done. Thanks so much @ceciliakeirstead

Thank you for posting! I love your food photo shoots :)

I love, like crazy love pot pies!

I know you do. Maybe someday soon I will make this for you @fullofhope

This looks so delicious!

@gringalicious this is another good one which you made with ground turkey (obviously) and a mix of veggies . Can you pls send in the recipe? in that way, I will add it to my yummies to try. Thanks @gringalicious and have a blessed weekend

Thanks @charles1. I wish you a great weekend too and the recipe is above.

Thank you so much, welcome and bless you.

Tastes hidden under the phyllo dough… it still looks suspiciously tasty @gringalicious 😊

This food looks very delicious. Is this typical turkey food? I really want to walk to turkey country. A very beautiful country. Wish I could visit here friends.. because I really love this country..

Do you like to cook? I think so. I wait for the next recipe from you. Nice too meet you my friend @gringalicious

If you have free time. You can visit my blog and follow me @zye

Sweet regards
@zye 😉

Thanks @zye! This recipe actually has nothing to do with the country of Turkey but I can see that might be confusing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67640.82
ETH 3784.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51