National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Happy National French Fry Day!

Well, I’m really hoping that you’re all excited with me to make this Thursday an epic fry-day???? Honestly though, in what world could this be a bad decision, right?

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!) (7).jpg

So most of you already know that I lived in Chile for years and that I’m currently visiting in the States. Wow, sometimes it’s still hard even for me to grasp that concept even though we lived there for so long. Already this new year has seemed to be changing with each new day and I feel like I’m trying to catch up and find my equilibrium.

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!)...jpg

I’ve had a lot of people ask me why I so rarely share Chilean food recipes when I live here surrounded by it all the time and I was trying to explain it to someone the other day. The best way I can describe it is to tell you what it was like to move to a new culture from the one we left. We arrived there and everything was so vastly different from what we were used to, especially the food.

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!),..jpg

Don’t get me wrong, I love trying new flavors and I really like Chilean cuisine, but on those early days in this new culture, when we were getting a little (okay fine, a lot) homesick, what we all were craving were the familiar comfort foods from our own culture. Trying to recreate them became more of my focus, and besides, whenever we do want authentic Chilean food it’s available everywhere. See my point? It was one of the last things I wanted to make at the time.

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!) (4).jpg

Things are different now that we’ve been here a while and we’ve gotten familiar with our surroundings. In fact, I’ve recently been gaining an interest in learning how to make all the traditional types of food made in Chile so I can share them. I thought I’d start with something that I know my family likes, it’s called chorrillana. Basically it’s a heaping pile of fries, topped with strips of beef, sautéed onions, and some fried eggs on the top (because those are a must in Chilean cuisine). It’s not a very complex or difficult dish but I think that’s what’s so brilliant about it.

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!) (6).jpg

Everyone has their own style of making it here. Some variations scramble the eggs and some of them have things like chorizo sausage added, but I decided to go for minimalism. Actually, I was seriously considering if I wanted to add homemade barbecue sauce, generous amounts of cheese, and some crispy bacon. I still think that it sounds amazing, but after playing my phone-a-Chilean card and consulting the counsel of my Chilean friend, I changed my mind. I asked him what he thought of my idea and he sort of implied it wouldn’t go over with the locals. Haha, I also asked him if they’d have kicked me out of the country for messing up a perfectly good chorrillana and you know what? He didn’t argue! (Haha) So yeah, I chickened out. Hey, but it’s definitely happening next time!

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!),.jpg

So let me know what you think of this one if you try it. I genuinely love to know and it always makes my day when I find out someone is currently enjoying recipe that shared.

Traditional Chilean Chorrillana (Beef & Egg Loaded French Fries!) (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. How to Make Crud Muffins, They’re a Thing! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Tiki Bars! Tropical Fruit Granola Bars (Vegan + GF)

  6. Mango & Young Dried Coconut Granola Breakfast Parfaits (Vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Southwest Egg Rolls + Avacado Ranch Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Almond Joy Pudding Parfaits & Coconut Cookie Dippers (vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Thai Basil Lentils & Coconut Toasted Sesame Brown Rice (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. National Sugar Cookie Day! Frosted Sugar Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


Sort:  

Recipe, please! Looks delicious. Also, simplicity is very welcome in this modern busy life :)

Loading...

These were SO good!! I need more!

Haha, I should definitely make them again soon @drobinson.

That looks so so good!! @drobinson would love that!

You'll have to try it sometime @alovelymess! Thanks. 😀 😃 😄 😁

Your AMAZING!!!

Glad you like these @hotrod!

Yum I love good french fries. Not that crap from Mc Donalds. I like to make my own.

Upvoted and Resteemed by the xx_Votes_Plus curation trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or delegate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead! Keep up the good work!

Happy Happy National French Fry Day to you, I will actually take up your menu and prepare one today, thanks for sharing.
I think that the recipe is clear on the pic, thanks.

Yes, this one is definitely straight forward @charles1! Thanks!

I agree, thanks

Wow I love potatoes so much, thanks for sharing.

You're welcome @patasieduagh! Thanks for reading!

Thank you for sharing this Chilean recipe and make us discover cuisines of the world dear!
Respect!
@progressivechef

Interesting post and delicious looking food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71141.42
ETH 3848.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48