Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

So unfortunately this isn't something chocolate.....

However, I do have some adorable little snacks to share. There really wasn’t any particular inspiration for these other than the fact that my mom and I have a mutual love of wasabi and I’ve been dying to use it recently. In fact, I didn’t quite get my wasabi fix with these so I might have to make something else with it for next week.

I made these because a few days ago the kids had some friends over and I was making kid-friendly snacks for them to fuel all of the inevitable energy that gets burned when you get a group of kiddos together. Pigs in a blanket are always a safe bet with kids. I mean, who can turn them down? Anyway, I thought I’d try a variation while I had the stuff ready, so I added wasabi to some of them, hence the green color.

Of course, as I was editing pictures I realized that these would have been perfect for St. Patrick’s Day. You know, with the whole green thing. Totally missed it, didn’t I? I’ll have to catch it next year. Well, and these are kind of green and red so they’d be great when Christmas comes around again. I’m pretty far off with timing my recipes sometimes.

They’re really simple and fun to make. I used powdered wasabi in the dough and I stuffed them with white cheddar cheese (which never fails) and I think they were a big hit. With the older people, that is. I didn’t even try to get one of the kids to eat something that green.

So these had a pretty good amount of wasabi flavor but not quite enough kick in my opinion so next time I’m going heavier on the wasabi. You can also dip them in wasabi paste for that great nose burn that every wasabi lover looks forward to.

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Caprese Grape Salad + Avocado & Balsamic Reduction (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. How to Make Crud Muffins, They’re a Thing! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Tiki Bars! Tropical Fruit Granola Bars (Vegan + GF)

  4. Mango & Young Dried Coconut Granola Breakfast Parfaits (Vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Southwest Egg Rolls + Avacado Ranch Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Almond Joy Pudding Parfaits & Coconut Cookie Dippers (vegan)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Thai Basil Lentils & Coconut Toasted Sesame Brown Rice (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. National Sugar Cookie Day! Frosted Sugar Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Potato Chip Crusted Sausage Macaroni & Cheese Cups (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Cherry Soda + Vanilla Bean Ice Cream Floats (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


Sort:  

I love wasabi myself, trying to get my kids to like it too ... we'll see how that goes :). Would love to get the recipe from ya, maybe they'll be more interested in trying it with hotdogs instead of sushi!

I'd be glad to share it @britt.the.ish!

Ingredients

Dough:
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
2 talespoons sugar
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick butter (melted)
1 egg
1/3 cup powdered wasabi (or more to taste if you want them spicy)
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 (14-oz) package cocktail-size smoked link sausages or hot dogs
3 - 4 slices white cheddar cheese
Instructions

  1. Stir water, milk, sugar, and yeast together until yeast is dissolved and allow to sit for about 5 minutes. Pour into a large mixing bowl and whisk in egg and melted butter until combined. Add flour and wasabi and mix until dough comes together. Turn out onto lightly floured surface and knead for about minutes. Place in oiled bowl and cover, then place in warm place to rise until doubled in size.
  2. Heat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and cut slits halfway through the hot dogs. Cut or fold cheese slices into thin strips and stuff into hot dogs. Line a tray with parchment or silicone mats. Take pieces of dough, about 1 tablespoon, and form into thin ropes then wrap around dogs. Place them about 1 inch apart on tray and bake for 12 to 15 minutes until edges are golden and cheese is oozing.

Don't make me hungry :)

Nose burn pigs in a blanket! It's okay that these weren't chocolate (this time) because these look yummy! 😊

I'm glad you're on board @uglysweater! Thanks!

Looks good

Holy yum!! I love wasabi! 😀😄

Thanks chica! 😀 😃 😄 😁

This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing.

I had a friend swallow an entire wasabi ball at a Sushi restaurant. He started sweating and looked like he was going to puke. LOL. But I would have to eat a little piece of these to know if I could handle them.

I seriously doubt that I would ever do what your friend did. I made these fairly tame, I'm sure you could handle it. Thanks so much for commenting @brianphobos

Im really hungry right now hmmm. by just looking at it I can tell how delecious it is.

I'm sorry you're hungry but glad you like this post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66095.52
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49