Spicy Bagels with Jalapeño+Cheddar Cheese (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

I think it’s safe to say that there are some universal truths learned when you start spending an obsessive large amount of time around food prep and cooking.

DSC_3064.jpg

When it comes to food trends and fads, there is one thing that will never go out of style and that’s bread. Every time period, every culture, and every society has/had a form of it and, more often than not, it’s the basis around which meals are centered.

DSC_2976.jpg

When it comes to types of bread, bagels are probably near the very top of favorites where my gang is concerned. Any of you that follow the blog may remember me talking about my (eh hem) bagel envy a few weeks ago. If not, then just know that I’m here to deliver on my promise of a new bagel recipe and I went with this super cheesy route because why not?

DSC_3041.jpg

The recipe is fairly simple and pretty much the same as any other bagel recipe until you’re ready to pop them in the oven, that is. That’s when you smother them in tons of cheddar and plenty of jalapenos to fit your taste! The spicy jalapenos, sizzle on the cheese and create that classic and addictive flavor that everyone loves about this duo all over the bagels. These are all that you guys, you’ve just gotta try them if you’re a fan of bagels, spicy things, cheese, or just bread!!!

DSC_3089.jpg

A little note to you that are actually going to make these; um, you may not want to do them all your favorite sil-pads because they’ll make everything you use them for afterwards taste like jalapenos. Not that I’d know anything about this from personal experience, just a tip that could prove helpful, yep.

DSC_3061.jpg

Also, this is a really random sidenote, but I just realized it’s been way too long since I last decorated a cake. My family has been exceptionally boring with birthdays this year and most everyone seemed to want non-traditional desserts and denied me the chance to practice my cake decorating skills. It’s been even longer since I did it for no other reason than just getting to play in frosting, so I think there could potentially be a "just-because" cake coming as soon as I get my cast off and can use my broken wrist.

DSC_3094.jpg

So these are great as they are, or with bagel’s best friend (cream cheese), or you can make some killer amazing bagel sandwiches on them, something that my brothers have already proved but keep telling me they need to test some more and therefore I need to make more of these bagels. There is clearly some serious bagel-obsession in my family.

DSC_3076.jpg

Okay, so now that you’ve made it through all that rambling hopefully you’re at least going to give these a try!

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. White Bean Creamy Chicken Chili (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Maple Cream Pudding & Pumpkin Bread Trifles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Rainbow Summer Veggie Rolls & Orange Tahini Dipping Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Soft Browned Butter Pecan Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Hot Pear, Gorgonzola, and Toasted Walnut Ham Sandwich (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Chocolate Churros & White Hot Chocolate Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Spiced Pumpkin Mocha Lattes

  8. TASTY TRAVEL TUESDAY - TURKEY SAUSAGE and GRUYERE EMPANADAS

  9. National Peaches & Cream Day & an Upside Down Skillet Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Buttermilk Sweet Potato Waffles + Vegetable Scramble (Gluten Free)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.
DSC_3090.jpg




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

would u recommend them for breakfast?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by MrLauren from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This comment has received a 3.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptolife1.

Am I the first to ask for the recipe? :)

Yes you are and I'm glad to share it! Thanks @movievertigo

Ingredients

2 Tbsp active dry
2 cups room temp milk
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon salt
1/4 cup olive oil
5 1/2 - 6 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup baking soda
large wide-mouthed pot of water
1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup sliced jalapeño peppers
Instructions

  1. Combine yeast, milk, and sugar in a large bowl and let sit for about 5 minutes. Add salt and oil and mix well. Scrape the sides of the bowl and add 5 cups of flour until the dough comes together. Allow it to rest for about 10 minutes then turn out onto lightly floured surface and knead for about 5 minutes until the dough becomes smooth and resilient, adding up to 1 cup more flour as needed (it should slowly spring back when you press your thumb into it). Place dough in a well oiled bowl and cover with plastic then place in warm place to rise for right around an hour, until doubled in size.
  2. Once it has doubled, divide dough into 12 equal balls and flatten slightly into disks. Use your thumb to poke holes in centers and then stretch into bagel shapes. Remember to stretch them a little bit skinny and give them room to rise. Place them on baking trays lined with silicone mats or wax paper, about 2 inches apart, and allow them to rise for about 1 hour.
  3. Halfway through the rise time preheat your oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and bring a pot filled with about 4 inches of water and 1/3 cup baking soda to a boil. Lay a clean towel on a tray, or counter top, and when water begins to boil, dip a few bagels at a time into water and boil on each side for about 30 seconds, using a large slotted spoon to flip them. Remove to towel for a moment to allow excess water on bottom to dry, then place back on tray; repeat with all 12 bagels.
  4. Sprinkle a generous amount of cheddar cheese over the tops of the bagels and lay desired amount of jalapeños on tops. Bake for 18 - 25 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Remove from oven and cool for at least 5 minutes before slicing.

Thanks again, mi amigo!!!

No... Thank you! :D I love spicy food

I should not be catching up on your posts at 1am. I just wanna eat everything! lol

I like my bagels like I like my women... Hot and spicy! ;)

Haha, nice comparison @movievertigo. I know many people who would say right on to that.

I'm not sure about the covered in cheese bit though ;)

Yum, YUM! I want these jalepen-my mouth! 😄

Oh, I'm so happy you like these @uglysweater!!!!😜😜

THOSE LOOK SCRUMPTIOUS! I love jalapeno bagels!

Perhaps I shall make you some soon?!

OHHHH please do!

Wow!! Another of my fave - jalapeño! You are making me hungry :)

Aw, well I'm so glad you like this @xredsoulless

Cheese 🧀 And Chilis 🌶 Two of my favorite things...... mouthwatering over here!

Hehe, well I love this reply @donnaincancun Thanks!

I'm rather mexicanized now after 11 years here I pretty much put chili and lime on everything I eat! Super addicted to salsa habanero 😄

Always wanted to ask: what do you do with the food that you cooked for post? :)

Eat, sell, distribute? Usually there are many portions on photographs :)

I have a huge family. I am one of 7

Good morning dear ... once again fabouls work... especially as you combined all my favourits with one another ... am loving bagels and more so Jalapeños.

So glad you liked it @spirits4you, thanks for commenting

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $64.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68