Soft & Dreamy Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Have I told you lately…………….that I love you?………………..??

Just kidding. Well, I actually do love you guys for being so awesome, but what I was going to say was ‘have I told you how much I love coconut?’

Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut (2).jpg

I’m discovering that pretty much anything and everything is better with coconut water/milk/cream/oil. Clearly I’m becoming obsessed here but did you know there is even such a thing as coconut sugar? The more I use it the more I wonder why we don’t ditch dairy all together when we’ve got coconuts around. Of course, then a mixture of thoughts come to mind including ice skates, Wilson volley balls, and my own experiences in hacking away at one and the ensuing mess of shreds carpeting my kitchen floor and hiding in my hair.

Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut (4).jpg

Okay, so you can keep your cow. I guess the outlook on replacing everyday dairy looks different when you’ve got so many products to choose from and the job of separating the coconut for all it’s worth has already been done for you. Ah, it’s so hard to keep perspective on these type of things in this age of technology. I can still enjoy using coconut milk though, right?

Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut (3).jpg

These were my mom’s idea by the way. I was making some cookies the other day (for a recipe that I’ll be sharing later this month, stay tuned) and they gave her this idea for a soft buttery cookie that tasted like coconut, but without having the texture of coconut shreds. I think that’s why so many people dislike coconut, the texture, so we agreed that these cookies had to be smooth and velvety.

Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut (6).jpg

I adore it when someone gets inspired by an idea for something delicious that they want me to make and I get to take on the challenge. Although, in this case there wasn’t much challenge involved because it’s hard to go wrong when coconuts are involved, but I did go through a few test batches before getting to the result I was looking for. A huge part of that was me being determined to work coconut cream into the recipe, yet not make the cookies dry or cakey. Speaking of coconut cream, I’ve been asked about this ingredient before so maybe I should clarify if you’re unfamiliar with it. Coconut cream and milk are two different things, much the same as it is with regular dairy milk and cream. You can buy coconut cream on its own at most health food stores but if you can’t find it you can use the skimmed cream from the top of a can of coconut milk that’s been chilled.

Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut (5).jpg

As you probably already noticed, I couldn’t help throwing in a little chocolate for good measure. Plus, adding chocolate makes these like Mounds bar cookies and extra bonus, they’re dairy free too! With or without chocolate though, these are something that you have to taste. Even my brothers, who are sworn enemies of the galactic alliance (and coconut), they loved these. If it is the flavor of coconut that you aren’t a huge fan of, feel free to skip or replace the coconut extract with vanilla, because without it these could easily be taken for simply the best sugar cookies in the world!

Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut (7).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Vietnamese Pork Banh Mi + Tahini Sriracha Mayo (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Chocolate Chip Black Forest Sticky Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Healthy Snack Time 3-Ways! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Pomegranate, Watermelon, & Mint Slushies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Creamy Chicken Taquitos + Cilantro Avocado Hummus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Mint Chocolate Chip Semifreddo Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Chocolate Chip Raspberry Filled Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Almond White Chocolate Vanilla Truffle Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Creamy Alfredo Chicken and Rosemary Lasagna (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Dreamy Soft Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free) #coconut.jpg

Sort:  

I love u so much for sharing such delicious food everyday! Would you mind sharing the recipe plz?

Abs-itively pos-olutely @creativewoman! Haha, thanks for asking, my friend!

Ingredients
6 tablespoons coconut oil, softened
1/2 cup organic palm oil or shortening (or more coconut oil)
1 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup coconut cream
1 egg white
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons coconut extract (you may want to add 1 or 2 more teaspoons more depending on how potent your extract is)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups all purpose flour
about 1/2 cup powdered sugar for rolling dough balls in
36 milk chocolate squares (optional)[use dairy free if needed]

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and pour softened coconut and palm oils into bowl of stand mixer or large mixing bowl
  2. Add sugar and mix on low speed until creamed in, then stop and scrape sides of bowl. Add coconut cream and egg white and mix until combined, then add extracts, baking powder, and salt. Mix in flour one cup at a time and beat after each addition until you have a thick and fluffy dough.
  3. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or sil-pads. Roll dough into 1 inch balls, then roll in powdered sugar and, if adding chocolate, use your thumb to make indentions on top of each. Place them about 2 inches apart on baking sheet and bake for 7 to 9 minutes until edges barely start to turn golden. Remove from oven and, if desired, top each with a chocolate then allow to cool for at least 5 minutes before devouring.

Very public <3

Hmmm... So Yummy 😋 @gringalicious
Hmmm ... may i try your recipe. 😂

These look delicious. Upvoted you.

I appreciate it so much @katythompson!

Oh my goodness, you know I love my chocolate

I do know that @fullofhope! So glad you like this recipe!

I love the chocolate and coconut combo and then you mix it with an awesome cookie - so dreamy!!

I am so happy you like them @noboxes!

These sound soooo good!! YUM!!!!

Glad you like them @alovelymess! 😉😉😉

This looks so delicious. Thanks for this great food post :)

This taught me so much about coconut, I didn't know there were so many uses for it and it does sound really tasty in this recipe. Thanks again for your great content @gringalicious.

I love coconut too, and your photos here are stellar (as always).

smiley face emoji

Thank you so much @papa-pepper, that's a huge compliment! I really appreciate having such awesome Steemit friends. Have a great week.

Coconut is the best........these look amazing 🌸💖🌸

Thanks for the recipe. It's delicious

So glad you think so @anhkhoi! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36