Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake Casserole (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

So I kind of made a lot of waffles the other day…….

When I say “a lot” I mean it. Oh, and there were pancakes too! So we had some leftovers from all of my recipe testing and my overestimations of how much we would need. You know what that means, we’re having waffles for dinner tonight!

Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake..jpg

Luckily, I am practiced at re-purposing things. From the time I started blogging up until now I’ve gained lots of experience at finding ways to recreate my failures extras into something edible and sometimes even something that everyone’s sorry I’ll never be able to repeat again because of its utter randomness.

Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake (13).jpg

This was one of the rare times that I created something that could actually be repeated without me sounding completely insane.

Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake (3).jpg

Waffle pizza bake isn’t that much of a stretch is it? I thought it was a pretty nifty idea myself. Oh, and today is National Junk Food Day so I thought it would be fitting.

Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake (9).jpg

This is something you need to try if nothing else than simply to say you have. It was so good, so fast, and a way easier way to do homemade pizza for a group. I actually used whole wheat waffles so that it was even heartier, but that’s up to you, and there’s also nothing to stop you from loading it with as much cheese as you see fit. Basically, pizza+waffles+all in one pan with next to no prep time=amazingness!!! I will definitely be recreating this in other versions because it was epic. You gotta do it!

Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake (10).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Malted Chocolate Milkshake with Homemade Chocolate Syrup

  2. Soy + Coffee Marinated Steak French Dip Sandwiches (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Grandma Lil's Bishop's Bread Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. White Cheddar Roasted Cauliflower & Broccoli Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Tiny Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Lightened Up Spinach & Hearts of Palm Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake (12).jpg

Sort:  

Will you share the recipe with me dear? @gringalicious

Sure @hoaha! I'd love to share it!

Ingredients

15 - 18 crisply toasted waffles, torn or cut into large pieces these would be great
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
4 cups marinara sauce (or pizza sauce), plus extra for serving
1 teaspoon oregeno
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/4 cup prepared pesto
150g sliced pepperoni

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degree F (180 C) and grease a 13x9 inch pan with oil.
    In a large bowl, combine marinara sauce with pesto, oregano, pepper, and paprika and stir well. Add in 1 cup of each cheese, about 1/2 of the pepperoni, and the waffles. Toss gently in sauce with 2 large spatulas or spoons to coat everything well. Add it all to the pan and spread evenly. Cover with foil and bake for 20 - 25 minutes, then remove from oven. Take off foil and sprinkle on remaining cheese and top with remaining pepperoni.
  2. Turn oven onto broil and bake for 5 to 7 minutes until top cheese is melted and browned. Remove from oven and cool for at least 5 minutes then serve hot with extra sauce if desired.

Notes
If using leftover or frozen waffles you'll want to toast them before making this. You can do it in the oven or individually in a toaster.

That's what I'm talking about!!

Haha, I'm so glad you like it @fullofhope!

I would of never thought to try this combo! You make everything look yummy!

That is so sweet @lifes-a-donut. I can totally see you making this for your family

I know that had to be delicious. Your Waffle Story sounds like my 100 lbs of Mangoes Story. I made Mango Recipes for days. From Mango Sauces to Glazes to Quinoa and Mango Salads with veggies lol. You got to do what you got to do so food is not wasted lol.

You are so correct @healthyrecipe. Fantastic commenting!

Your post compelled me to order a pizza with an extra cheese and pepperoni topping .

Then I'd say this is a success! Haha, thanks my friend and enjoy your pizza!

yeah it is. Waiting for your new mouthwatering posts now.

That's a whole new twist of eating pizza haha

Hey @stackin!! Thanks for stopping by. Don't you think it was time to twist the pizza?

This is the first time seeing such pizza, will love to try it out, thanks.

I mentioned you in my new post, pls feel free to check it out.

Thanks so much for the mention in your post @charles1, I am honored. If you want to give one of my recipes a try, perhaps you should start with something a tad more easy, don't know though, maybe you should go for it after all.

Yes I would love to taste your food...am on my way to buy flight ticket and come / eat your yummies...tomorrow?

I have never seen anything like this. I would gorge myself on it though for sure!

Well, you may never see it again and my brothers devoured this, so.... I think you're safe now

A good idea!
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49