White Cheddar Roasted Cauliflower & Broccoli Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Nothing says warm and homey like a big steaming bowl of soup.

Start with a rich chicken stock base, include some roasted veggies and fresh herbs, and then add cheese of course, and you’ve got yourself a great thing going.

Roasted Cauliflower and Broccoli White Cheddar Soup (9).jpg

Okay, now that I’ve gone and totally sounded like a soup commercial. Ugh, I know, I do that a lot don’t I? Someday I will hopefully be better at this whole writing thing. I can write long posts in my head but when I go to type them out I always draw a blank. I usually come up with the best stuff like in the shower or when I’m trying to go to sleep and stop thinking. Figures. Please tell me that I’m not the only one who has writers block on an almost daily basis.

I can at least tell you that you need to make this soup. Oh, and did I mention that it is gluten-free and low carb! Like loaded baked potato soup, hold the potato. It is definitely one of my new faves. I’m guilty of being kind of obsessed with anything roasted. It just adds so much flavor!

I hope that all of you who are reading from below the equator can make this to warm up this month and the rest of you make it even though it’s not cold here in the Northern hem. It actually hasn’t gotten too hot here yet (except for a day or two this past week) and we are still enjoying a fire at night sometimes. I can’t decide whether I want it to cool down or stay warm because I hate being cold but I can't wait for Autumn!

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Lightened Up Spinach & Hearts of Palm Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Fried Jalapeño Popper Mac'n'Cheese Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Chocolate Covered Strawberry Marshmallows (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. National French Fry Day: Chilean Chorrillana Eggs + Beef Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Mini Wasabi Pretzel Dogs with Cheddar (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Caramel Pecan Sticky Sweet Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


Sort:  

Looks great! Do you mind providing the recipe?

Absolutely @jkly87

Ingredients

1 large head cauliflower, cut into florets
1 medium head broccoli, cut into florets
1 tablespoon olive oil
8 strips uncooked bacon
2 medium onions, chopped
1/2 head garlic, minced
8 cups chicken stock
1 cup heavy cream
8oz (about 2 cups) shredded white cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons fresh thyme leaves, roughly chopped
salt & pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 C) and arrange broccoli and cauliflower on baking trays. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place in oven and roast for 25 - 30 minutes until very soft with golden edges.
  2. While veggies are roasting, cook bacon in a large saucepan or shallow pot until crispy. Remove to paper towel lined plate and reserve grease. Add onions and garlic and saute for about 5 minutes until translucent.
  3. Pour in 4 cups of stalk and add thyme and half of the cauliflower. Cover and simmer for around 20 minutes then remove from heat. Allow it to cool for about 5 minutes then pour into food processor or blender and pulse until very smooth. Return to pot and add remaining stock, rest of cauliflower, and broccoli, then bring to a boil. 4. Reduce heat to low and add cream followed by shredded cheese. Simmer until thickened and add salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Serve hot with crumbled bacon and additional shredded cheese if desired

That looks yummylicious! I love soup!

Thanks my sweet @alovelymess! 😀 😃 😄😀 😃 😄😀 😃 😄

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or delegate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead! Keep up the good work!

Please support us! Upvote this comment and we will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

I absolutely love soup. This looks so yummy

This has @fullofhope written all over it

Looks deliciuos!

I am a soup lover. Thank you for this recipe! :)

I am so glad you like it @emanuel.tanasa

OMG looks so delicious ! I will definitely be making this soup , thanks for adding the recipe in comments ! Mmmmm, yummy !😋😋😋

So glad you liked it @karenmckersie. Feel free to use it in one of your future food posts

Your welcome ! Thanks !👍👍👍💕

woow..Really nice, I'm so laper, thank you for sharing, good luck.

Man this looks delicious! lol, and I am sorry I don't anything similar to offer, but yes if you feel interested, do check my profile, I am working on creating more of authentic content than compilation!

Alex Koshy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49