🍪Inside-Out Stuffed Twix Cookies🍪 (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Is it really Saturday already? Wow!

Well, we’ve all obviously survived the week alive, but clearly I’m late to get these cookies on here for breakfast this morning. Haha, just kidding you shouldn't eat cookies for breakfast 😕 (😋quickly wipes crumbs from face😉🍪🍪🍪). Not that it makes it any better, but I’ll be posting the more diet-friendly things soon, for real.

Inside-Out Twix Cookies (2).jpg

Okay, so maybe not breakfast but, you know what I’m thinking these would be perfect for? They'd be a great surprise in your kiddos back-to-school lunch!

Inside-Out Twix Cookies (3).jpg

I’m going to be straight with you though, these cookies can get really messy just so you know. I’ve had some complaints from readers recently on some similar recipes that they didn’t come out perfect so I want you all to be forewarned that you are pretty much guaranteed to have at least one oozer in each batch, at least. We’re talking melty chocolate and caramel meets real life baking, hello, there’s always going to be a little messiness involved. The amount of not-so perfect cookies will depend on what you choose to stuff them with. Since I used homemade caramels they were a little extra runny and melty but if you use store-bought ones they should hold up better because there are things added to those to help stabilize the chocolate.

Inside-Out Twix Cookies (6).jpg

Whichever you choose, I think any amount of trial and error is worth it cuz these are amazing. Seriously, slam-dunk/show-stopping/crowd-raging madness here! You just have to try em!

Inside-Out Twix Cookies (7).jpg

Ok, clearly I’m obsessed with stuffing cookies as of late. In recent months if you haven’t noticed I’ve made a lot. Hey, It’s just really hard to go back to plain cookies once you’ve started down the road of stuffing them with yummy stuff. The exception being when you’re to lazy to put in the extra step, but when you’ve got the time, it’s so worth it.

Inside-Out Twix Cookies..jpg

My mom calls them sugar baby cookies because the texture that the homemade caramels get when you bake them in the dough is such a similar texture to sugar babies candy and she used to love those. And speaking of candy, there aren’t actually twix bars in these, but rather, they were inspired by a twix but in reverse. The chocolate is on the inside while the shorbread-ish cookie in on the outside. Get it?

Inside-Out Twix Cookies (4).jpg

So remember what I said about these being potentially messy. Please don’t expect picture perfect cookies every time or your setting yourself up for disappointment. By the way though, the stuff that runs out of the cookies is still very edible (wink wink).
I hope you had a great week and are planning a fun rest of your weekend! STEEM ON!


Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Spinach & Artichoke [Costco Inspired] Chicken Bakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Hot Cocoa Inspired Triple Layer Chocolate Cake!!! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

3.B-Dogs! (Maple Pancake Coated Breakfast Sausage on a Stick) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  1. Spicy Buffalo Blue Cheese Stuffed Soft Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Soft & Dreamy Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Vietnamese Pork Banh Mi + Tahini Sriracha Mayo (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chocolate Chip Black Forest Sticky Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Healthy Snack Time 3-Ways! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Pomegranate, Watermelon, & Mint Slushies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Creamy Chicken Taquitos + Cilantro Avocado Hummus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Inside-Out Twix Cookies (3).jpg

Sort:  

those look deeeelicious, full of chocolaty and caramely goodness... recipe please! :D

Thanks for your interest @alexpmorris! So glad to share it!

Ingredients
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup palm oil or organic vegetable shortening
2 cups sugar
1 large egg + 4 yolks
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
4 cups all purpose flour
36-40 chocolate covered caramels (or rolos)(I used these homemade ones
Instructions

  1. Cream butter, shortening, and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Beat in egg and yolks, then soda, salt, and vanilla. 2. Add the flour a little at a time and mix until dough is well combined.
    roll the dough into 1 inch, about 1 heaping tablespoon each, balls and place them about 2 inches apart on parchment or silicone lined baking sheets. Use you thumb to make a well in the center of each dough ball and stuff a chocolate caramel inside. Squish the sides up a little and roll the dough around it to cover.
  2. Place cookie back on tray and push down slightly then repeat with all cookies. Place the tray in freezer (if it won't fit you can chill the balls on a smaller plate and then put them back on tray) for about 25 minutes to get cold.
  3. While the balls chill, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). After 25 minutes, bake for 7 - 9 minutes until the edges are just starting to turn a light tan. Remove and let them cool for at least 5 minutes them loosen from pan and either let them cool completely or eat them while they're still hot and melty!
    Notes
    I should probably also mention that these do not all come out perfectly shaped. Know that some of them will have a little filling ooze out and candy, or possibly even burn, on the pan. What I do is simply let them cool on the tray and cut the cookies away from the runaway filling (p.s. It's really good once it candies like that; baker's privilege!) If some of them get extra flat you can try using a spatula to sort of push the cookie back into shape by scooting in the sides.

thanks for the recipe @gringalicious! :D I'll get right on this, so long as I don't eat up all the rolos before I even start! lol

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Oh my goodness, this is going to go great with my coffee this morning!!

Yum! What a great way to eat these @fullofhope!

I love Cookies and Twix! These look delicious!

One day, I need you to teach me how to take pictures as amazing as these!

STEEM ON!!

Aw, you know how to take awesome photos already but I'll teach you anything you want @noboxes! Thanks!

Are you kidding me? Every time I look at your posts and think "no that one is the best!" you come up with something that looks even more delicious.

You are truly one of the most talented people on this platform.

I know I should comment more on your posts but it is hard to type when your mouth is watering so much. I just can't concentrate!

Well, @hanshotfirst, when ever you get a chance to comment, I appreciate it very much. Thanks so much for the kind words, I am not sure I deserve them, but I'll will continue to try

Oh my gosh! These look absolutely amazing @gringalicious! The way the caramel melts out of the broken cookie - mouth-watering. Also the color of the baked cookies shows that this batch turned out to be of perfect texture - crispy on the outide and chewy and soft in the centre. :)

Awe, so sweet. Thanks so much for the awesome commenting @alinalisa, I really appreciate it

As always, a delicious looking recipe! I love making stuffed cookies and definitely know what you mean about the oozing. But that's all part of the yumminess, right?! I can just see the kids faces when these are put in front of them after school. Of course, I'd have to hide a few so they don't get them all. :-)

Yeah, I understand the hiding part. My brothers are excellent sleuths and they always find my hiding spots. Thanks so much for the fantastic commenting @lifewithlinda

Mmm I love Twix and I love cookies you come up with the best creations!

Thanks so much for the kind words @tilikum

Nice! :)

Thanks @resilicncia, great to see your upvoting yourself on such an amazing comment. Way to add value to the platform

I understand your position. But this is not the only thing I do. To add value to the platform I write posts, I also publish some good comments and upvote peoples content. The point is also that it is hard to grow on Steemit and upvoting ourself is one way, as this is still an option on Steemit it is something that can be done.
Anyway I also understand your position.
Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51