Funfetti Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Who says Wednesdays have to be the worst?

I don’t know but I’m overwriting that law today and saying we make this a Monday-FUNday and sprinkles are always a great way to do that, don’t you think?

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (3).jpg

Okay, honestly my family is more swayed toward the dark side of desserts (meaning I’ve got some serious chocoholics in my crew) but personally I sometimes would choose vanilla over chocolate (shhhhhh, don’t tell!). I know I get that from my mom because, as much as she loves her chocolate, she has a tendency to have vanilla moods quite often and so do I. That’s why I occasionally feel like making something without chocolate despite it being underappreciated among my tasters. It’s really kind of annoying how underrated my non-chocolate creations are sometimes.

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (4).jpg

I’ll admit that I couldn’t get everyone to even taste these. Usually that would make me think that they weren’t "all that" because I rely heavily on my peeps to help me decide if something is worthy of posting. In this one instance though, I’m sharing these anyway because I know why they didn’t get the reviews they deserved. You see, I did the stupidest thing possible and made them on the same day that I also made my family’s highest rated recipe ever, my homemade snickers (Btw, you’ve got to try them guys! Not joking, they are definitely in my top 5!). My poor krispie treats didn’t have a chance. So that’s why I thought I’d share the recipe with you so you can appreciate them for me because as a vanilla lover I know they are awesome.

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (8).jpg

I have never made rice krispie treats for the blog because you can’t actually buy the rice krispies here. I cheated and used and actually used plain puffed brown rice cakes that I just broke up in pieces and toasted, but I know this would work even better with just puffed rice. I love the no-bake factor of these treats and I think you probably do too. They can be made so fast and they only require a few ingredients making them a perfect anytime dessert. I did add a few more ingredients than your basic krispie treat to make these the best, but all the ingredients are pretty straight forward and they should be things you already have.

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (7).jpg

Rice krispie treats are such a classic. I remember my mom would put them in our school lunches and we always got excited to find out what kind we got. My little sister Lela used to call them “rice Christmas trees” when she was learning to speak English and the funniest part is that she really thought that’s what they were called. It was my favorite thing ever, so cute! Of course, I seem to be the only one who remembers this, but I’m 100% positive about it. She loved them too, especially the chocolate (imagine that).

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (2).jpg

So I wanted to make these taste like cake batter but since I’m totally against using nasty boxed cake mixes on principal, I decided to just add the majority of things that would be actually in cake batter. Something that I’ve found is missing in so many recipes that claim to be cake batter is the egg. Okay, so I know people freak out about raw eggs and I’ve talked about this way too many times before and how I feel about it. I understand that if they aren’t handled correctly eggs can make you sick, but I’m living proof as a daily recipe creator that raw egg is not as dangerous as you might believe. That’s all beside the point though, as you’re going to cook the egg for this recipe, so no worries! The egg just adds that batter taste that gives you the warm-fuzzies of being a kid on your mom’s counter. I also added a dip in icing because, hello, yum!

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (6).jpg

And like I already mentioned, I used puffed brown rice that was unsweetened but you can use regular rice krispies cereal instead. If you use unsweetened you just need to add a little extra sugar to them. You’ll see it listed in the recipe. Oh, and one more thing before I shut up, the sprinkles. In case you were wondering what kind I used, mine were homemade. I’m still working on perfecting making homemade sprinkles and I’ve even done them with completely natural colors, but I’m not quite ready to share a recipe. My hope is to get into videos someday and then it would be the perfect thing to post.

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (5).jpg

So anyway, make this day taste like nostalgia and try these you guys!

Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Spicy Buffalo Blue Cheese Stuffed Soft Pretzels (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Soft & Dreamy Coconut Meltaway Cookies (Dairy Free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Vietnamese Pork Banh Mi + Tahini Sriracha Mayo (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chocolate Chip Black Forest Sticky Rolls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Healthy Snack Time 3-Ways! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Pomegranate, Watermelon, & Mint Slushies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Creamy Chicken Taquitos + Cilantro Avocado Hummus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Mint Chocolate Chip Semifreddo Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Homemade Peanut Butter Crunch Breakfast Cereal (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Chocolate Chip Raspberry Filled Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


Cake Batter Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats (11).jpg

Sort:  

This is damn Delicious. Superb, plz share the Recipe

Loading...

Now that is what I call playing with your food

Haha, I definitely do that. (Shhh, don't tell the kids, hehe) Thanks @noboxes!

These looks so yummy, they make me have the hungers!!

I love rice krispie treats! I am trying these!

You're always so nice! I bet people like you

Ooh that sounds goood! And I love your photos!! Great job! 😃😃😃😃

We always make these for Christmas time...your recipe takes it to another level! :))

I hope this gave you some new ideas for this upcoming Christmas season?

Loving all of the colors. :) Great recipe again @gringalicious

I really appreciate it @vegetarianbaker! Thanks!

amazing and sweet dish I like to eat
thanks for sharing with us. @gringalicious

Damn so delicious :) only first request will get upvote :/ ohh thats sad :/ i am bit late :D

So glad you like these @hassanabid! Thank you so much for reading!

Wow .. Looks like this food is very tasty, it's like peanuts mixed with honey.

I'm sure it's similar to that in ways @marconah. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33