Dark Chocolate Tim-Tams Filled with Cookie Butter (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

You know what I realized this week, I’m a terrible grocery list maker.

DSC_2442.jpg

I’m constantly writing down ingredients that we’ve run out of or things that we’re getting low on, but somehow I can never seem to remember everything we need. It’s a running joke in our family how we have a never-ending shopping list. It’s pretty much a sure thing that the moment groceries get put away we’ll realize that at least a few things got missed and immediately the next list begins. Thankfully my mom is much better at keeping track of these things and doing the shopping, otherwise I’d never even begin to meet the challenge so then we’d never have any food in the fridge. I’m convinced she’s got super powers, that woman.

DSC_2438.jpg

Anyway, have you caught on to the cookie butter craze? Maybe that’s long been old news to most of the world? I don’t know about you, but a creamy spread made out of cookie crumbs is right up my alley! I think there’s even a team versus team situation over the two main brands. Did you know you can make it yourself though? You totally can, but more on that later.

DSC_2369.jpg

What about tim-tams, have you heard of them? I’d never heard of them until I saw a handful of bloggers posting their homemade versions recently. Apparently tim-tams are a huge thing in Australia, which kind of explains why I’ve never heard of them since I grew up in the States. But still, such a revolutionary cookie should have been on my radar way before now. I’m a food blogger for crying out loud, what am I doing with my life??? I’ve been determined to make some since that love-at-first-sight moment but, you guys know how I am, I wanted to switch up the flavors a little and it’s taken me this long to choose.

DSC_2533.jpg

I really don’t remember how I decided on a cookie butter+tim-tam combo but I think it’s kind of brilliant, don’t you? Maybe not. Yeah, it probably seems odd to cream up cookies into a filling and then make different cookies to stuff with it, but it’s all about these specific flavors here. Cookie butter has a flavor of its own and I don’t know what it is about it but the flavor of cookie crumbs being mixed in the filling and paired with the chocolate cookies is so amazing. I guess it’s because it’s not your typical cookie flavor and a little change is always nice.

DSC_2551.jpg

Back to the cookie butter subject. If I were going to buy it, I’d prefer the organic one from Trader Joe’s, but sadly we don’t have TJ’s here. I’ve probably already complained about that fact a few too many times. They don’t sell the Biscoff brand here either but we did find biscoff cookies and from the moment we first saw them I’ve wanted to try turning them into a homemade cookie butter. I’m so glad to tell you that I finally did because it’s super easy and you’ve got to try it.

DSC_2515.jpg

After making these I can see what all the hype is about Down Under and why they seem to be keeping them a secret. O-M-Goodness!!! I also tried some with vanilla buttercream filling and they were kind of like chocolate covered oreos, yum! If you want to make traditional tim-tams you could use a chocolate malt cream filling to replace the cookie butter. Oh, and I’ve heard they make caramel tim-tams too, that would be amazing and I’m so going to have to try that next time. So are you sold on these yet? I know I’m pretty psyched up over here! Have a great weekend guys!

BeFunky Collage.png

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Lemon & Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Pound Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. BARBECUE BACON & GOUDA CHEESEBURGERS with HOMEMADE BAGEL BUNS - ( Food Photo Shoot )

  3. Chicken & Corn Chowder + Rye Bread Bowls

  4. Churro Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. 20-Minute Mushroom & Ham Omelette (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Roasted Balsamic Peach, Almond, & Cilantro Pizza ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

  7. Caramel Almond Bundt Cake with Kahlúa ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

  8. Overnight Almond Chia Pudding & Chocolate Avocado Mousse (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Pistachio & Avocado Bagel Toast with Honey Drizzle (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Classic Country Style Chicken Pot Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

I certainly can relate to the issue of being horrible at grocery lists. I have tried a host of apps but basically I think it is an issue with my organising skills that no app can solve. Lol

I was not aware of the cookie butter craze. Coated in dark chocolate, anything is great but the way you describe, the recipe just sounds yummy. Thanks. Upvoted.

I would be honoured if you visit my latest blogs when you have time. I have posted a blog about worlds tallest flying bird with my wildlife photos. Your comments would be very welcome. Thanks.

Thanks for reading @vm2904!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57617.33
ETH 3012.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39