Chilean Pisco Sour Cupcakes + Lemon Pisco Frosting (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I have some cupcakes to share with you today! Not just any cupcakes either. These are spiked with Chile’s favorite drink; Pisco Sour. This recipe is long overdue. I’ve been wanting to do this for ages but I just kept putting it off until I knew I’d need inspiration.

So what is Pisco Sour? It’s kind of a big deal in Chile, and many parts of South America as well. Pisco Sour is the national drink of both Chile and Peru. It’s made with Pisco, which is a type of brandy made in both countries. Then the sour part refers to either lime or lemon juice. It’s sweetened with a simple syrup and sometimes topped with egg whites and bitters, although I think that’s more of a Peruvian thing.

Pisco Sour Cupcakes with Lemon Pisco Frosting (2).jpg

Both Chile and Peru claim ownership of the drink and it’s invention sometime between the 1870’s and the 1920’s. I’m not gonna lie that I find it quite amusing to hear the debates that go on about its origin when the subject is brought up. They can get pretty heated, especially when aided by one too many Piscos.

Pisco Sour Cupcakes with Lemon Pisco Frosting (4).jpg

I may not be of drinker but every honest chef is required to taste what goes into their food and they say not to add liquor to your cooking unless it is something you would drink on its own. Out of the small sips I’ve tasted of different drinks, Pisco Sour is one of the only ones I can actually see myself drinking someday. I don’t think I’ll ever enjoy drinking much but I love using different liquors in cooking.

Pisco Sour Cupcakes with Lemon Pisco Frosting (8).jpg

Okay, I’m not sure about the availability of buying Pisco in the States or other parts of the world. I remember my dad finding some at Trader Joe’s but they may not still carry it. I think you could substitute it with a different Liquor, though. If you can’t find pisco where you live then tequila might work and today happens to be National Tequila Day.

Pisco Sour Cupcakes with Lemon Pisco Frosting (3).jpg

The flavor and texture in these cupcakes is amazing. The Pisco is barely detectable but enough to add a depth to the other flavors. I will definitely be making them again and I can’t wait to serve them at a party. You have to try these.

Pisco Sour Cupcakes with Lemon Pisco Frosting (11).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Funfetti Birthday Cake Batter Blizzards (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Bacon Cheddar Pretzel Wrapped Hot Dogs (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Bacon and Maple Blondie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. 30-Minute Dan Dan Asian Noodles

  5. Twinkie Doughnuts [ Hostess Clone ]-( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

  6. Pepperoni Pizza Waffle Bake Casserole (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Malted Chocolate Milkshake with Homemade Chocolate Syrup

  8. Soy + Coffee Marinated Steak French Dip Sandwiches (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Grandma Lil's Bishop's Bread Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. White Cheddar Roasted Cauliflower & Broccoli Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Pisco Sour Cupcakes with Lemon Pisco Frosting.jpg

Sort:  

Can I have the recipe? It looks very delicious.

Loading...

Great post! Thanks :)

You're very welcome @askaran!

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: First 7 weeks of xx-votesplus: YOUR dropAhead Curation Team!

Thanks @dropahead. I really appreciate it!

I love the pisco for sure. And for all you Peruvians out there, Chile does it better LOL. Just kidding!

Welcome to steemit @noboxes. Looking very forward to your first post, I hope it is an intro post?

I love lemon cupcakes! These look amazing!

I am very glad you like these @lifes-a-donut! 😀 😃 😄 😁

Wow, these look so good @gringalicious! A work of art ;)
Thanks for the recipe.

Thank you so much @nomads! I really appreciate it. Have a great week! 😀 😃 😄😀

WHHHHAAAT?!?!? I have never had these, they look amazing, @gringalicious!
You know, I still have a full bottle of Pisco in the cabinet. ;)

For the record - I've tasted Peruvian style and Chilean pisco sours. My vote is... Chilean all the way!! I could go for one right now.

Ohh, could you bring that with you by the way?

I'll see what I can do!

I have never heard of Pisco before, thanks for sharing this small history with us @gringalicious!
As usual your food looks amazing!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Have an awesome week @progressivechef! Thanks!


hmmmmm, yami....................................


This is really mouth watering!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.30
ETH 3389.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50