Twinkie Doughnuts [ Hostess Clone ]-( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT )

in #food7 years ago (edited)

There was this one time in Chile when I had 201 eggs on my kitchen counter at once. Not even joking.

That’s so completely random and unrelated to my recipe today. Although, I did use quite a few eggs in testing these doughnuts. Actually, let me see, I think I used a total of 17 before I found the perfect frosting consistency that I wanted. I can’t help mentioning this crazy amount of eggs because I was remembering how hilarious it was. Every time I walk into the kitchen it's like I can still see this tower of egg flats and I want to start laughing. It’s just that we use eggs so fast that we thought it would be good to see if it’s easier to buy them in bulk.

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (5).jpg

I think they should last us about……. a week. I know, wow! Okay, maybe it was quite a bit longer but we go through eggs like you wouldn’t believe. A: we have a huge family (and we had 2 huge dogs that happen to love any eggs that might have been cracked in transit), B; this crazy family includes a food blogger who uses eggs like they are going out of fashion, C; you could always expect to have friends dropping by when you live in Chile so that adds a few more eggs to the daily count, and D; the eggs that we had bought were the beautiful brown ones from happy, healthy, free-range chickens. I love that. I remember growing up, I always thought that eggs were supposed to be white and that the brown ones were gross, but now I feel the opposite. I only use white eggs when that’s all we have, but the brown ones are so much richer. In fact, the whites ones almost gross me out now.

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (6).jpg

Okay, but to get to the point here, Twinkie clone doughnuts. I’m sorry, let me repeat myself, Twinkie clone DOUHGNUTS! Yes!!!!!

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (7).jpg

I think I missed my opportune window for Twinkie recipes when everyone was freaking out about Hostess going out of business and saying things like “we’ll never be able to eat them again!” I heard about people making hundreds of dollars per box on ebay. Who would pay that? People can be so ridiculous, right?

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (2).jpg

So, I can only recall eating a handful of Twinkies in my lifetime, it’s probably been about a decade since I last had one. You know how everything tastes better when you’re little (especially when it’s something you’re mom doesn’t buy)? Well, when I was really young I loved them, they were so soft and filled with fluffy cream. It wasn’t until I was a little older that I realized they really weren’t all that. However, the idea is genius, but a homemade version is the way to do it right.

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (3).jpg

I’ve seen people make Twinkie pans out of foil, and that’s something I would totally do, but I thought it would be a whole lot easier to just use my handy dandy doughnut pan and call it a day. Don’t you agree? So much quicker and, come on, who doesn’t get excited at the sight of that familiar O shape of a doughnut?

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (4).jpg

Like I said, I went through a bunch of different frosting recipes to get to one that I liked for these. The one I ended up with is a Swiss meringue that is a little touchy but so worth a little extra effort! Just read the instructions and have some patience because it takes a few minutes. As for the finished product, basically, if you already like the nasty trash packaged Twinkies then these should make you childishly happy.

Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum!.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Malted Chocolate Milkshake with Homemade Chocolate Syrup

  2. Soy + Coffee Marinated Steak French Dip Sandwiches (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Grandma Lil's Bishop's Bread Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. White Cheddar Roasted Cauliflower & Broccoli Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Tiny Frosted Gem Butter Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Lightened Up Spinach & Hearts of Palm Dip (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Southern Creamy Corn Nuggets From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Golden & Flaky Phyllo Crusted Turkey Pot Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Homemade Boston Cream Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME



Twinkie Clone Doughnuts, Yum! (8).jpg

Sort:  

Great photoshoot. Drooling for some donuts!

As this is a photoshoot I am assuming you don;t have a recipe for us this time around! :(

Actually, I do! Thanks for asking @jkly87!

Ingredients

Cream Filling:
4 egg whites
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons palm syrup, maple syrup, or honey
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, at room temp (not cold or melted)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Doughnuts:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg and 2 egg yolks
1 cup whole milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups flour
Instructions

  1. Whisk egg whites, sugar, salt, and syrup in a small saucepan and place over your lowest setting on smallest burner. (most recipes call for putting your mixing bowl over a pot of boiling water instead so you can do that if you're worried about scrambling your eggs) Stir for 3 to 4 minutes over heat until sugar is dissolved. (If you have a candy thermometer and you want to use it you should wait until it's between 140 and 160 degrees F [60 - 70C]). 2. Remove from heat and pour into the bowl of a stand mixer. Allow it to cool for about 5 minutes, then start beating on low speed and increase speed a little after every minute for about 5 minutes. Now turn onto high speed and beat until stiff peaks form. It needs to be very stiff if you push it to one side and it doesn't stay then it's not stiff enough Here's the tricky part, change to your beater attachment and add the butter to the bowl. Turn onto the lowest setting and let it mix nice and slow until it's done. (At first it will look all separated and weird but don't freak out, that's supposed to happen. Just let it keep mixing until it gets thick and delightfully fluffy. Add vanilla and beat until mixed. See, you did it!
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease 2 non-stick, 6-count, doughnut pans well with oil. Beat butter and sugar together in mixing bowl (no need to wash after the filling) until creamed. Beat in eggs and milk, then add salt, baking powder, vanilla, and flour and mix until smooth.
    Pour scoops of batter into donut pans and fill to the line. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes until just starting to brown on top. Remove and cool completely, then loosen from pan (I find the side of a spoon works well for this).
  3. Fill a pastry bag, fitted with long narrow tip, with your filling. Use chopstick or skewer to poke 3 - 4 holes around the doughnuts then pipe filling sideways into doughnuts. Serve as soon as possible after piping because the doughnuts will absorb the cream filling after a while.

thanks for recipe

You must be kidding they are filled with vanilla cream, oh no no way to get them.

They look delicious!

Thanks @alovelymess! I wish I could hand you one right now!!! 😝

This brings one of my likes and dislikes together... I'm torn.

Haha, not a twinkie fan I take it? Well maybe these will change that! 🍩🍩🍩🍩

mmmmmm my mommy used to make homemade donuts every now and then. They looked jsut like that. Sooooooooo delicious, almost makes me miss home.......almost.

Aw, that's such a compliment @aaronmda, thanks!

Oh, wow @gringalicious!! My taste buds think those look so good! And the presentation is beautiful!

Perhaps a return is sooner than you might think and I can make these for you? How's that sound?

Oh yes, please!!! That sounds great! 😃 Thank you!

I'm not really into cooking and baking, but I'll definitely try this recipe! Sounds delicious!
Thanks for your hard work and sharing the recipe :p

Maybe this will inspire you to get into cooking and baking?

Who knows :D and there are no twinkies here so I'm curious :P

Great idea! I honestly grew up not knowing what Twinkie's were. I only found out recently, felt like I was missing out on some things.

Anyway, you have such amazing talent in preparing and taking the photos. I just want to grab them from my screen. :(

Wow, thank you so much @natiform!

I love your food and dessert @gringalicious
I love food also and to know more about any kind of amazing food like what you are blogging right now..yummy...
IMG_20170709_192332.jpg

They look very tasty, One cup of tea and those delicious donuts. And my morning is start wow :)

mmm, tea, ok, if that's what your choice would be. I'd pick a coffee or a very cold glass of milk. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @foxkoit, I really appreciate it

You are welcome :) And cold ice tea is good too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47