5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I’ve got a really fun recipe to share today guys!

Well, at least I think it’s pretty fun. Any time a recipe can be healthy enough to count as breakfast, easy enough to make with the kiddos, require minimal ingredients and labor, and taste great any time of year, now that’s a really fun recipe in my book.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (2).jpg

Thinking of fun stuff, are you guys getting excited about the coming change of seasons yet? What about plans and events? Any last minute vacations or traveling planned? I’d honestly love to know!

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (3).jpg

So I haven’t made popsicles in a really long time and Sophie, my 9-year-old sister, has been more than willing to help inform me of this fact. She’s been on this huge popsicle kick recently which inspired me to dig through my ever growing collection of kitchen gadgets the other day to find my molds.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (4).jpg

It’s sort of a win win for everybody I think, with it being back to school time for a bunch of you guys I thought these would be a fun treat to fix for a quick snack or a fun dessert that you can feel good about giving the little ones. Don’t get me wrong though, these definitely don’t have to just be for the shorties, they’re every bit as appealing to the grown-up’s palates too! Especially when the weather is super hot, which I hear has been the case in many places up north. These seemed like a good fit for this time of year because we’re just starting to get hints that Fall is coming.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (5).jpg

Guess what, not only are they only a few ingredients but they’re vegan, dairy free, and gluten free! I’m pretty sure they qualify as raw and paleo as well, although I don’t know a whole lot about those diet trends. Can I get a WHOO-HOOOO??? Yeah, so I think that covers pretty much all of the most common diet restrictions making these pops perfect to have on hand for unexpected company or parties.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (6).jpg

If you’re a little worried about the avocado, don’t be. The lime and syrup/honey make the perfect flavor balance in these and you won’t even think about the fact that it’s avo you’re eating. I used honey because I’m not a vegan, but any natural sweetener will work instead. In fact, you could even use granular sugar and simply adjust the sweetness to your taste. I also tacked on a touch of salt and vanilla as optional ingredients because it helps bring out the other flavors and make these just a little bit more like eating a frozen slice of key lime pie on a stick.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (7).jpg

And by the way, these were kiddo-approved by my loyal little helpers! I think Ryder, my 2-year-old nephew, wins the prize for being my biggest fan though. Oh my goodness, he was so cute asking me for a “bob-boh”. Hey, did I tell you guys that my auntie name is “Doh-dee” now, isn’t that adorable!

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and I've recently made new accounts on social media just for my Steemian friends to follow so don't forget to go follow me on all your favorites!

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Raspberry Chocolate Chip Crunchy PB&J Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Buffalo Chicken Blue Cheese Sandwich Bombs (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. All-Natural Fruity Marshmallow Ropes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Deep Dish Oreo White Chocolate Oatmeal Skillet Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. 30-Minute Dan Dan Asian Noodles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Perfect Buttermilk Drop Biscuits (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Individual Indian Tikka Masala Pizzas with Whole Wheat Crust (Vegan) (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Cinnamon Glazed Harvest Apple Bread(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Sweet Corn & M&M Doughnuts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. https://steemit.com/food/@gringalicious/loaded-sweet-potato-chili-cheese-fries-food-photo-shoot

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png
5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (8).jpg

Sort:  

Great dish, write a recipe?

Hope you enjoy! Thanks @serkagan

Ingredients

2 medium (ripe) avocados, pitted
1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 4 small or 2 large limes)
1/3 cup maple syrup or agave (or honey if not vegan)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
1/3 cup raw cashews
1/3 cup pitted dates
1/8 teaspoon salt (optional)

Instructions

  1. Combine the cashews, dates, and salt in a small food processor or blender and pulse until very fine and starting to stick together in a sort of dough. It doesn't need to be completely smooth because you still want a little texture. (If you don't have a small food processor this can be done by hand-chopping but it does take much longer to get it as fine.) Pour the mixture into a small dish and set aside.
  2. Add the avocado, lime juice, syrup, and vanilla to the processor and blend until creamy smooth. Divide the mixture into your popsicle molds leaving about 1/2 inch of space empty at the tops (depending on the size of your mold it should fill about 6 slots). Now fill in the empty spaces with your nut/date mixture and press down just slightly.
  3. Insert popsicle sticks in the middle of each pop and freeze for a minimum of 8 hours until solid. Once frozen, run the outside of the mold under hot water for a few seconds to loosen the pops, then serve and enjoy!

Thanks for sharing the ingredients and procedure.....would like to try someday...it looks delicious

Thank you, I'm sure it's very tasty :)

wi;; try it ...

wow, love it.. its a must try..

This looks absolutely divine aunt dohdee , and table nickname it's so cute how lil kiddos just name u anything , thank u for sharing this wonderful dessert with us <3 I wonder though how u got the avo to firm up on the stick , looking forward to read through ur recipe . :-)

Thanks so much for reading and commenting on my post @moonprincess, awesome commenting!

Very refreshing and mouthwatering ,I must try @gringalicious. Thakns for sharing.

Sorry for the long delay in replying, thanks so much again for all your kind comments @theia7

Noceoosh

It is necessary to try mandatory. The recipe is wonderful. Let's spread the Goodies! :)

Thanks for taking the time to comment @rollsman

Ooh awesome! I actually made avocado popsicles just the other week :D

We must have avo on the brian? LOL Thanks @playfulfoodie

I guess so :D
Today, I made chocolate mousse from the leftover avocado's!

Always professional looking!Would love to have a popsicle right now!😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50