Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Okay, major confession time……

I’ve never made sweet potato fries before. Don’t judge, it’s just that most of the french fry lovers in my family claim to hate sweet potatoes so I’ve always felt it would be a pointless venture. But now there will be no going back. I’ve opened the door to homemade french frying and everyone knows that they can be done. Fact: there will be more fries happening, a lot of em, and very soon.

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries..jpg

I think that if regular potato fries went up against sweet potato fries in a competition to see which tastes better chili-cheesified, the latter would win hands down every time. Sorry regular potatos, we’ll still love you forever, but it’s coming up on October and sweet potatoes are calling to us!

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (3).jpg

Oh, and speaking of October and Fall, this is like the ultimate football season food, because nothing says guy food like chili fries. I have this condition when it comes to making chili though, I end up throwing everything into it before I consider it done. But that’s how it should be with chili, don’t you think? It has to develop its flavor over a long period of time to be at it’s best. Plus, it’s pretty hard to go wrong by adding a little extra this and that to reach chili perfection.

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (5).jpg

And now that I’ve been making chili for years, I always make it by touch and don’t measure any of it, but I did my best to give you guys an accurate ratio recipe to follow. I still recommend going with your instincts on the final taste, though. Only you know your own preferences so don’t be shy to add a little more of the flavors you love.

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (8).jpg

For example, sometimes when I’m in the mood for a smokier chili, I basically just keep dumping in the liquid smoke until I taste it. I also like adding miscellaneous things like coffee, cocoa, and cinnamon, to get that perfect depth of flavor. Of course, I make food by the vat these days, so for smaller batches I’d say to take it easier on any drastic flavors. It goes both ways too, I know my chili ingredient list is like 12 miles long, so if there are a few things that you don’t have or you’d rather not add, just skip em. Every batch of chili I make ends up slightly different and I love that.

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (9).jpg

My brother @trumpit has always despised sweet potatoes, but I even got him to try these. He loved them actually, and he even said he was really sad when his plate was empty. That says a lot, since he’s a typical growing teen boy that usually finishes his plate thoughtlessly and immediately moves on to the next thing to keep up with his raging metabolism. I think you need to make these this season if you want to really enjoy life’s greatest pleasures. Just sayin’.

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (10).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Homemade Frosted Circus Animal Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Blackberry BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches+Cilantro Pepper Slaw (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. All-Natural Red Velvet Pancakes with Dark Chocolate Mocha Syrup(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Asian Salmon Bowls + Veggies + Black Rice (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Browned Butter Toasted Coconut Magic Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Tuscan White Bean Ravioli Tomato Soup (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Basil Lemon Meringue Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Chocolate Pancakes + Honey Sweetened Cocoa Ganache (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)(with nutrition facts!)

  10. Salted Chocolte Chip Cookie Dough Pretzel Brownies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

Loaded Sweet Potato Chili Cheese Fries (2).jpg

Sort:  

amazing shots! would love to get the recipe :)

Loading...

It's really good.
Photos and decorations are perfect!
Eating with beer will be very happy.

Thanks so much for the kind words @atom, I am glad you liked it

Thanks for sharing another great recipe. I will have to try these out on family on our next gathering. We seem to have a lot of them. I am going to try a cook off sort of thing and will be including some of your awesome recipes. With the fall season sweet potatoes are a great addition. I like how you added that you add different things based on what you feel like adding. That's my kind of cooking. Your sweet potato fries look delicious and well worth a try.

Fabulous commenting @beccadeals. Yeah, I rarely,... ok I never follow a recipe. I only make them up so that people have some guidelines to follow, but they are just guidelines. Again, thanks so much

Ah- sweet potato fries, one of favorite. Nice presentation, along with ground beef and cheese, seems to be very yummy :)

My family thought it was yummy. Thanks so much for commenitng @theia7

Ahh yes, the cilantro. Wow, what a flavor combo!

I'm so glad you think so @fullofhope!

This will be great for the weekend. I'm barbequing some chicken today, this would be a perfect compliment

Loading...

Yum, I love sweet potato fries. Slightly more healthy than normal fries too - I wonder if you could gently shallow fry them in olive oil to make them even healthier?

absolutely, olive oil is awesome! Thanks so much for the great idea @uncihermit

indeed if we want to be all should be tried as you salute me so great curiosity all you do good work

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my post @zainalabidin

A good one for evening meal with fresh orange juice...thanks for sharing

wow, fresh orange juice. Now there's some flavors going on. thanks so much for the idea @charles1

welcome , hahah great flavors indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29