Pink Magnolias

in #flowers6 years ago
For several years, I have seen a particular variety of beautiful pink flowers blooming each spring. They resemble a magnolia flower, but they are growing on a tree that is MUCH smaller than a typical magnolia. Besides the difference in stature, the bark is different, and the overall form of the tree is different than the magnolia tree to which I am accustomed. Therefore, I imagined it to be a different genus of plants, despite the similarity of the blooms.

What I consider the "typical" magnolia tree of the Deep South is the Magnolia virginiana species. The trees are quite large, and can grow to 100 feet (30 meters) in height. They are very hardy and have thick, dark green leaves. The flowers are breathtaking, large, and possess a very sweet fragrance! They are a rather common sight in the southeastern US and are commonly seen gracing the property of antebellum dwellings.

I am very grateful to @osm0sis for her "Patterns and designs in nature - Flowers" post, which was instrumental in helping me to identify this flower. Her post depicted a similar-looking bloom referenced as Magnolia 'Susan', which is a cultivar between Magnolia liliiflora and Magnolia stellata.

Research into Magnolia 'Susan' indicates that the flower I've seen is likely to be the one that is called Magnolia × soulangeana and is commonly known as a "Saucer Magnolia." It is a cultivar between Magnolia denudata and Magnolia liliiflora. The flowers are a delicate pink color and make such a beautiful display in spring!

PinkMagnolia.jpg
~Magnolia × soulangeana, photo by me~

For comparison, here is an example of the larger flowers of the Magnolia virginiana tree that is so prominent in the southeastern US:

WhiteMagnolia.jpg
~Magnolia virginiana, photo by me~


SOURCES
   1 Missouri Botanical Garden: Magnolia 'Susan'
   2 Wikipedia: Magnolia
   3 Wikipedia: Magnolia × soulangeana
   4 Wikipedia: Magnolia virginiana


SeeOtherPosts--Flowers.png

Sort:  

@thekittygirl the flower is too beautiful never ever imagined to go so deep ....good to get to know from you...

Lovely to be able to learn a bit more about these beautiful flowers.
Happy blooming days!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

The pink flower is nice , but the big southern Magnolia when in full bloom is freaking awesome site with the deep green leaves and white flowers, reminds me of when I use to drive Ms. Daisy.

They are stunning, almost similar to my fovorite flowers, which are Gardenias - I go crazy for their sweet scent!

Awwww, magnolias... They are very popular in my part of the town, almost every house has one tree 💚

Magnolia soulangeana is the magnolia that made me fall in love with these trees!
I am blessed to have so many around me now that we have moved to the south. Just recently I saw my first magnolia tripetala or 'umbrella magnolia' and was amazed at how big those single blooms are.

I don't know how many times I can drop the word Magnolia in this comment, but it's also one of my favorite femme names and is on my list!

Incredibly, I am amazed by your work, explaining a thing is difficult in the post but you are perfect in explaining your work, amazing !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31