Pink Bicycle

in #flowers6 years ago
I recently shared photos of some beautiful azaleas that are currently blooming in our yard, but completely forgot to include another photo. This is a photo of my pink bicycle, parked in front of azalea bushes laden with fuchsia blooms!

PinkBike.jpg
photo by me

The azaleas in this photo are rather special, as they came from my grandmother. According to the way I remember the story, someone visited the island of Formosa (now known as Taiwan) and brought back some azaleas. I think it is more plausible that they brought back "cuttings" rather than entire plants, but I am not sure. My grandmother came into possession of some of them and planted them beside her house and they thrived. Years later during a visit, my parents accepted an offer of some cuttings/plants, and brought them here. Because of their provenance, I refer to these as the "Formosa Azaleas." These bushes are large — taller than I am, which is amazing because I am 5'8" (172.7 cm) — and there are three or four of them growing in a row, so they make quite an impressive sight when they are blooming!


Anyone interested can read about the etymology of the names "Formosa" and "Taiwan" here


elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TheAlliance-banner++.png

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

What beautiful flowers

whoa! beautiful work!! just love it! Xoxo

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

they do look amazing ! and love the pink on the bicycle too :D

Wow... the picture is so beautiful @thekittygirl u took a nice shot🤗

Beautiful shot @thekittygirl. One of my fav plants of all time :)

Everything about this photo bicycle is amazing

Looking at this pink bicycle reminds me of my very first bike that my dad bought for me when I was 5!!! Good times indeed, thanks @thekittygirl for a lovely reminder, and post. Hehehee :)

That bike looks adorable and the post immediately reminded me of a song from Queen "Bicycle Race" and now it is stuck in my head, thank you very much for that :D

It looks awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36