Yellow Woodsorrel (Oxalis stricta)

in #flowers6 years ago
Among the many little plants that can pop up in lawns and back yards throughout much of the world is the woodsorrel. There are several species in the Oxalis family, and various species are found throughout much of planet Earth, except for the arctic and antarctic regions.

YellowSorrel-1.jpg
photo by me, Yellow Woodsorrel (Oxalis stricta)


Clover flower: Wikipedia
The plant has three heart-shaped leaves that often have a chevron-shaped mark in pale-green or whitish-green color. At night, the leaves fold, and then reopen in the morning.

The dark-green leaves resemble those of the clover plant, and is sometimes thus called the "false shamrock." The flowers are very different, though —see the photo at the right of a clover flower, and compare it to the woodsorrel flower, above.

The flowers and leaves of the woodsorrel are edible and have a tangy taste. Because of the oxalic acid in the plant, though, only small quantities are safe for consumption because it can disrupt the body's supply of calcium and can lead to kidney failure, among other things. The plant is sometimes chewed, though, by hikers and farmers to assuage thirst when water isn't readily available.

The flowers of the woodsorrel are very small, as shown in the photo, below, with my thumb in the photograph for size comparison of the flowers:


photo by me

The different species of the genus Oxalis have flowers of varying colors, including some special hybrids that were cross-bred by nurseries. Besides the cheerful yellow of Oxalis stricta shown above, longtime followers of my Steemit blog might remember the flower I placed in my introductory post, of an Oxalis debilis flower, the Pink Woodsorrel:

PinkWoodsorrel.jpg
photo by me

Woodsorrel is a delightful plant for a child to find, especially when it is blooming, because of its small size. However, many adults overlook such tiny flowers, which is a shame. Thank you for enjoying them with me today! 😊

YellowSorrel-3.jpg
photo by me


SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Oxalis
   2 Wikipedia: Oxalis stricta
   3 Wikipedia: Oxalis debilis
   4 Wikipedia: Clover
   5 Tortoise Forum: "Oxalis or Clover - Whats in your garden?"

elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TheAlliance-banner++.png

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

As I am foreign the post did not only allow me to enjoy the lovely blooms but learn their names in English. Now it is blooming time and enjoy its delicate beauty.

I love the oxalis family of plants. I like to use them in the shady bits of the garden, as they don't mind dappled light and look nice in a woodland garden.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

nice click ,i like the nail paint with flower photo... ;-)

@adityajainxds #thealliance

We have so much yellow wood sorrel growing in our yard! I'm looking forward to making a tea from the flowers. 🌱

Yes, they are beautiful in their simplicity. I love wildflowers, I like them more than luxurious roses. They have this charming naturalness and tenderness. In my area, too, there are those in your photos. But it's time to bloom has not yet come)

Wood sorrels are such a pretty tiny little flower!
I saw this post on Steemit Ramble Discord. :-)

Squeeeaaaal! I love tiny things! They're even more adorable when flanked by your bright pink thumbnail! Such sweet little yellow petals – itty bitty natural mandalas. <3 Thank you @thekittygirl – educational AND totally made me giggle!

i-macro-37.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41