Chokecherry (Prunus virginiana)

in #flowers6 years ago (edited)
There are some small trees in our yard — I am not sure, but I think it might be what is called a Chokecherry (Prunus virginiana), as photos on the Internet seem to match the leaves, flowers, and trunk of the tress that I am seeing here. The flowers are small white ones, growing on a raceme as shown below:

=Chokecherry-01.jpg
photo by me

The leaves on the stem are alternate, meaning they alternate on the stem (one on the left, then another on the right, further down). When the flowers disappear, they are replaced by a small berry.

=Chokecherry-02.jpg
photo by me


image from Wikipedia
This area is near the extreme southern-end of its normal habitat, but sometimes plant species push the ecological envelope a bit, especially when birds eat seeds and them poop them out further away from where they were consumed. 😁

Strong wind can also help spread seeds, as well as rain/rivers washing the seeds to new locations. Mother Nature is a powerful and awesome force, and I definitely have much respect for Her.


photo by me
Here is a photograph of a group of several small trees growing close together in our back yard. The trunks are rather small, even though the height of the trees is twice as tall as I am, or more.

The bark is smooth, and feels wonderful to touch. They are lovely-looking little things. They're somewhat delicate in appearance, but appear to be rather resilient to the effects of wind, summer heat, and the cold of winter.

Since this area is slightly beyond the limits of their "historical natural range," I am not sure if this would be counted as an invasive species or not. But, as lovely as the trees are, and considering that they did arise in our yard from some, unknown natural forces, I am not inclined to do anything to discourage their growth. I rather like them.

It is entirely possible, though, that this tree is NOT a Chokecherry, but something else, entirely, as many plant species often share similarities with regard to leaf-structure, flower-structure, and other identifying characteristics.

If anyone knows with certainty about the identity of this tree, I would appreciate either a confirmation or a correction to this post!

=Chokecherry-04.jpg
photo by me


SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Prunus virginiana
   2 Reference.com: How Do Seeds Spread?
   2 Wikipedia: Seed Dispersal

elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TheAlliance-banner++.png

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

Hi @thekittygirl, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Beautiful photos and great information! Thanks for sharing!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I do not know if it is a chokecherry or not, but what I do know is that it is beautiful. You have an amazing yard and you photos are so pretty! Thanks for sharing sweetie. You got a big fan rigth here Lol

Love this post! Thanks for the info...I've seen these along the river and never really thought about them. Now I can tell my friend what they are like I'm smrt or something. LOL. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42