Moar Yellow!

in #flowers7 years ago (edited)

Soon after the daffodils bloom in the spring, the flowers we call "Yellow Bells" appear! Yellow Bells are the flowers of the Forsythia bushes. Wikipedia says there are eleven different species in the genus, with two being very common. Of those eleven species, one is native to southeasten Europe, but the other species are indigenous to Asia. I have no clue which species is so prevalent in this area, though.

Forsythia-1.jpg

The petals of the flower hang downward, resembling a bell.

Forsythia-2.jpg

When left unchecked, the plant grows in long, lanky shoots, as seen here in our back yard:

Forsythia-3.jpg

The effect creates a pretty "wall" of yellow! Here is one flower, seen in profile:

Forsythia-4.jpg

The lady across the street from us carefully pruned her Yellow Bell bushes each year until they grew thicker, and she has them trimmed each year to keep their hedge-shape, all the way up her long driveway:

Forsythia-5.jpg

Thank you for enjoying the pretty yellow flowers with me! 😊

floralPINK-1751088_1280.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-04.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

Amazing post keep it up have a nice day my friend upvoted.

Thank you so much! 😊

Beautiful view! I've never seen flowers like this before.

Thank you, my friend! I wish I could send you some of these! 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 5 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you for the resteem! 😊

Beautiful photo of some pretty flowers. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much! 😊

Beautiful flowers

Thank you! 😊

So much looking forward to spring when everything becomes alive again! :) Thanks for sharing some color today

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the lovely flowers, too! 😊

Thank you thank you thank you! I have been wondering what these little things are for 3 springs now. We just have one big bush of them. They are looking great as a hedgerow though!

Oh, I am so glad I could identify them for you! Yes, they are lovely and I am thrilled you can enjoy them, too! 😊

Greetings @thekittygirl. I was referred to you by @limabeing. I would like to talk with you about doing a banner for my tribe here on steemit. We can talk more if you are in discord here is your invite to TribeGlobal-love https://discord.gg/KmEBvSH

Yes, I will be happy to help if I can!

Thank you so much can we talk in discord, I see you peeped in.@thekittygirl. And I also must say I love your work. The banner is for our new tribe that is moving slow so we need to be more visible. This is the blog on Steemit https://steemit.com/@tribeglobal-love I will be in discord for a little while longer before getting some sleep. Thanks.

Yes, I am waiting for the 10-minute timer to count down so I can post there! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35