Daffodils: Harbingers of Spring

in #flowers7 years ago (edited)

Yellow is such a cheery color to me, and it is always delightful to see yellow flowers heralding springtime in my area! The first flowers to appear (at least in our neighborhood) are the lovely daffodils, which are in the Narcissus genus of the Amaryllis family.

Daffodil-3.jpg

When it is time for these flowers to bloom, usually in mid-to-late February, they bloom even if it is still cold or there is snow on the ground.

Daffodil-2.jpg

Most of the daffodls, at least in this area, have flowers that are all yellow in color, but there are other combinations. Some have white petals and a yellow corona (the trumpet-shaped protrusion), some have white petals and an orange corona, and then there are these with pale yellow petals and a brighter-yellow corona:

Daffodil-4.jpg

Some varieties have white petals and white corona! The following is not one of that variety, but looks a little like it because of the way I desaturated the photo:

Daffodil-1.jpg

Thank you for celebrating this pretty flower with me, and I hope you enjoyed seeing these photos as I much as I did making and editing them! 😊

~ all photos by me ~

divider.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

wow these flowers are looking amazing my friend @thekittygirl

Thank you so much! 😊

you are welcome. i want to ask one thing do you know me ???

We do not know each other in real-life, but we are following each other on Steemit, since your first week here! You joined in October, about a month after I joined.

yes i know that. because in beginning you were guiding me here to earn money . but they you flew away like a bird :P

Yes... I followed so many people that there was no way I could look at all the posts every day. Then, I also became busy with servers/guilds on Discord, then became Admin of some of them. Steemit and Discord are almost a full-time job... LOL!

Good for you my friend keep and up i,m happy for you are you earning handsome money here.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 4 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you for the resteem! 😊

WOW. a very beautiful flower.
I love colors, composition. very successful shooting. excellent editing!
congratulations my dear friend!

Thank you so much for your appreciative comment! 😊

Pretty flowers... What's your favourite flower btw?

Oh, my favorite...? I have always been partial to dahlias, crysanthemums, and marigolds! Just picking one is difficult, though! Thanks for stopping by, upvoting generously, and commenting! 😊

They all sound yellow-ish type of flowers. Haha :D

Well, they could be... LOL! My favorite dahlias are the white ones, though! And marigolds can be orange as well as yellow! Variety is fun! 😊

A delightful flower. I, too, love daffodils and their the thin flavor. Do flowers bloom in your area? It's so cool. And we're still covered in snow.

Yes, we have several flowers blooming now! The daffodils were first, then the Yellow Bell bushes, then small red flowers appeared on our crabapple tree, then the flowering almond bush, and our Eastern Redbud tree started blooming yesterday! We will have temperatures down to -10°C this week, but I think spring is finally here after that! 😊

I too love daffodils! I get so excited when I start seeing the tips of the leaves sticking up in January...my favorite ones have just started blooming - I'll be out taking pictures soon. I don't know what they're called, but they are yellow spirals with little orange edged ruffles. I cherish them everyday while they last :-) Beautiful pictures!

Oh, those flowers you described sound lovely! I will be looking for the photos! 😊

They are just starting to bloom! Stay tuned...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36