fiftywords stories: Round-up and Theme for Weekdays 3: WAVE

in #fiftywords7 years ago (edited)

fiftywords-red.png

I hope you all enjoyed your weekends! And that you had a good time!

A big thank you to everyone who found the time to join-in with the "time" theme - or who added a story of their own inspiration. We had some wonderful stories over the week-end: some inspired by time travelling, by a lack of time, by times of birth and death, or by the impact of lost time. Lots of different styles and some beautifully presented pieces too.

I particularly liked this work of comedy from @felt.buzz:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@felt.buzz/not-worth-fixing-an-original-work-of-fiction-in-just-fiftywords

A man with my own sense of humour. And fifty words on the nose!

Our numbers have swelled again over the week-end. Please welcome the following authors to our ranks:
@busdriver, @charlesmackenzie, @chidiarua, @elementm, @ellievallie,
@gonzo, @jayna, @therosepatch, @tibra, and @tin-tin!
Visit their blogs to see what they're about or catch their stories on the fiftywords tag.

And as always a congratulatory round of applause and pat on the back for all of you who have joined in so far. At the end of week-end two we’ve now had ninety-two original stories from forty amazing authors - here’s the list of all contributors if you want to visit your fellow fiftyworders!

@authorofthings, @bentheredonethat, @birchmark, @busdriver, @byn,
@calluna, @charlesmackenzie, @chidiarua, @crookshanks, @deirdyweirdy,
@elementm, @elijahniel12, @ellievallie, @felt.buzz, @gonzo,
@greycrasan, @hannihealth, @hazem91, @improv, @jayna,
@jrhughes, @kyrian, @lonestarpoet, @mctiller, @metzli,
@miniature-tiger, @navaneeth, @niallon11, @not-a-bird, @saoirseronan,
@saryn, @someoneusual, @spalatino, @thechosenwhan, @therosepatch,
@tibra, @tin-tin, @vaitelavicius, @yadah04, @yomibolo,

I've generated this list automatically - although I do believe I've read every story!
If I've missed you off, sorry! It's no slight, you're just sneaking through the cracks in my query - I didn’t get any complaints last week so hopefully it’s working Just let me know if it isn’t; it would be helpful to me too.

The new fiftywords theme for the weekdays is "wave". Challenge yourself to produce a fiftywords story with some element of a wave, whether it’s a life on the ocean waves, a science fiction based light-wave story, or a welcoming wave to say hello. Hopefully plenty of options to choose from.

I'll round up again on Friday morning with the weekend theme. I will be happily resteeming one of the stories I like best and no doubt I will be offering some of my small upvotes as encouragement.

Thanks for reading everyone and good luck with your stories!

—-

If you would like to join in, particularly if you're new to the platform, or recently returned, and looking for somewhere to start, please do! Just post your story with the "fiftywords" tag. You can follow the theme or simply take your inspiration where you find it. The only unbreakable(!) rule is to keep it to fifty words - ideally fifty on the nose - and also try and produce a complete and contained scene, moment, or story. In a future post I'll try and put some thoughts together as to what I think makes a good fiftywords story. But everyone will have their own ideas and all are welcome!

Sort:  

I am really enjoying this challenge.

First Entry: The Desire
Second Entry: The Survivors

Okay, here's my second #fiftywords: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@elementm/fifty-words-story-wave
And thanks for hosting the challenge 👍 !

do you want to drop the link to your newest word at a prompt so I can update or should we just say - check the profile?

Hey Marianne!

Could you just say check my blog and look for the most recent article with the pink or blue #fiftywords cover. That way you won't need to update the link at all.

Much appreciated!

Sure, I will do that. And if you ever stop doing them, please let me know.

I want to enter! I am very excited to enter the challenge. Fingers crossed!! Joy

The best competition, yet, for getting the angle just right! I love how you can write for a couple of hours and then only have 50 words left at the end of it saying more than a complete novel could! The standard of the regular contributions is inspiring. My first contribution can be found at https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@sukhasanasister/fifty-word-story-saved-from-the-waves

Welcome @sukhasanasister! Thanks for your story and for joining in. The more the merrier!

Here's my entry: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@ahmadmanga/fiftywords-mother-s-last-chocolate-tiny-story ...It's my first #fiftywords entry.


My comments are in the post version but if you only want to read the story here is it below:

Mother's Last Chocolate

"Mom, will you buy me a chocolate after school?"

The day she died, mom waved at me as I left home.

After school, I was told my mother was sent to the hospital.

But she wrote a message before she left. "I'm not feeling okay, but here's your chocolate."

[Fin]

Welcome to #fiftywords @ahmadmanga. I loved your story, thanks for joining in!

YAY for this writing project! Tip!

Cool! I still don't really understand what that does. But thank you!

Looks like the bot is moving slowly. It should show up here eventually. It's never failed me before. I'll go check on it...

Apparently the steem api nodes aren't working? I don't know what that means, but they say that they're working on a solution.

Ah it's a conspiracy. Utopian did the same to me yesterday. But it arrived now. So thank you again!

Here we are again! https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@metzli/life-as-a-teacher-fifty-word-story

Please stop by and have a read, I enjoy visitors ❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48