Fifty Word Story: Saved From The Waves


He shouldn’t have.
- I meant to drown, I was only waving good-bye, she spluttered to apologise.
- Look at my Versaces! Her unsuccessful hero reappointed his distress.
Although the brine stung her eyes, she made out the sodden orange, suede loafers contrasting stylishly with the cobalt designer shirt.
For Clacton-on-Sea? Really?


This is my contribution for the fifty word story challenge (a very good one for wordy me) suggested by @miniature-tiger found at https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@miniature-tiger/fiftywords-stories-round-up-and-theme-for-weekdays-3-wave. By my count 50 on the nose, but Word counts the hyphens used for direct speech! So you may get 52!

image: Versace Suede Driving Shoes Orange

Sort:  

I have very fond memories of Clacton, particularly the rollercoaster and the pier. Those clothes would probably not be out of place!

Thanks for your story and for joining in with #fiftywords!

Is that Clacton coming up in the world, then? Depends, I 'spose on what you make of Versace. Or the guys who wear him....

More the latter I would say. It's Essex. Always dressed. Even at the beach!

Very true. Shorter than mini or tighter than hot, dressed to the nines, always! I probably should have picked Brightlingsea or Earlham's Beach. But back in the eighties, on a grey day, this guy in Clacton (or was it Frinton?) in orange shoes left an impression on me as someone out of place (or French!). His partner/date stormed off hysterically, while he remained non-plussed on the pavement, by the car he'd just parked (something French which wasn't popular back then). I couldn't help wondering if he would go after her in his flashy shoes, if she ended up, melodramatically, in the sea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61