#Fiftywords: Mother's Last Chocolate (Tiny Story)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Another Short Story About Mother/Child Relationships. It's my first entry in @miniature-tiger's #fiftywords initiative. Written with the current theme "Wave".

Mother's Last Chocolate

"Mom, will you buy me a chocolate after school?"

The day she died, mom waved at me as I left home.

After school, I was told my mother was sent to the hospital.

But she wrote a message before she left. "I'm not feeling okay, but here's your chocolate."

[Fin]



Being short I had to edit it many times to be less than 50 words (49 now) and the "Wave" theme was better in the longer version. But I still think the result turned out a lot better than expected!! Yaaay!! I would like to thank @miniature-tiger for his challenge and @mariannewest for mentioning him in her freewrite challenge.

With this and "Your Heart Would Remember" it feels I write about Mother/Son relationships a lot... It's okay I love Parent/Son relationships and writing them.

What are your thoughts?


This is my twelfth day post in my #challenge30days. Cover image is from pixabay.
Sort:  

Oh this is a bittersweet reminder that we never know the time we have with the ones we love. That we should make every moment count. And the chocolate there after her passing, just as the love of a mother follows you even when she is gone.

Beautiful, friend <3

Yup!!

Oh this is a bittersweet reminder that we never know the time we have with the ones we love.

One of my Uncles died few years ago, few days before his death we had an argument (or lets say he gave me advice) to focus on my college. His death was too sudden (he was shopping, suddenly fainted and died at the hospital) that I was too numb to feel sad in his funereal.

I’m sorry to hear that. Maybe the message of your story will save some reader from similar pain.

so short but so powerful, it made me shiver. <3

Thanks, I tried to make it better... There was three words about death before. But I think writing "The day she died" at the beginning then not mentioning that again made it more powerful.

This was both, heartbreaking and uplifting. Hard to do in so few words, but you pulled it off.

Thanks, I was surprised by how good it was when I re-read it after I finished.

Oh, both sad and sweet @ahmadmanga. You manage to get a whole range of emotions in there in such a short story.

Thanks for joining in with #fiftywords!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51