Fifty-word short story challenge - new prompt!

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

It's time for another 50-word story challenge! And I do mean "challenge." Guys, I had so much fun running the Fifty-word short story contest that completed yesterday. It was amazing. The participation and quality of the entries blew me away.

I'd like to continue stoking the fire of the #fiftywords story format, at least until @miniature-tiger is ready to resume!

50wordsGIFhashtag.gif
(Image credit: Original image by pixel2013, Pixabay)

I did some thinking in the process of running the contest. I'm going back to the "challenge" version of this project, as run by @miniature-tiger. This will make it manageable. I loved running a contest, but tracking all of the entries in light of the contest rules and judging a winner took several full days of effort. I'd like to run this weekly, but two days a week of contest management is not sustainable with my current schedule.

What I will do, however, is support all great entries with upvotes. I will also resteem one or two of the best entries that have clearly been written with care. (And psst! If the challenge is really well supported by the #fiftywords community, I may not be able to resist throwing a little SBD at the most well-crafted pieces.)

So, let's do this!

The 50-word story prompt: spring


This week's story prompt is "spring." Have you noticed I love a prompt that has multiple meanings?

Guidelines

Here they are:

  • Write a story in 50 words. (It's especially cool if you can hit 50 words exactly!)
  • Use the #fiftywords tag, and post the link in the comments of this post.
  • Be sure to read and upvote the work of the other participants. It's all about community!
  • Use only artwork that you have the right to use, and attribute it properly.

Okay, I'll admit I'm much more fond of guidelines than rules. The one rule I want to underscore, however, is the proper use of images. This means one of the following: it is your image, or you have actual permission, or the image is public domain, or under creative commons licensing rules.

I have two resources for you, from my friends at #thewritersblock:

Deadline: Saturday, March 17th

Have fun!

The 50-word story clan

I'm mentioning you here if have participated in the #fiftywords short story challenge from @miniature-tiger or the one I just ran to continue the tradition. Please let me know if you would like your tag removed in this or future posts.

@ablaze, @adigitalife, @agmoore, @aksounder, @alheath, @andyartland, @anixio, @anjkara, @awhsarada
@bentheredonethat, @bhop42moro, @bitsendpieces, @botefarm @brandonsadventur, @bryarose23
@caleblailmusik, @carlosparejo, @charlesmackenzie, @cizzo, @creatr, @curtwriter
@damianjayclay, @deirdyweirdy, @dinavice, @dirge, @divineinyang
@eaglespirit, @ebitularmbert, @elementm, @enjar, @evgsk
@feebie, @felt.buzz, @fireawaymarmot, @fitinfun, @freewheel
@godwine, @gonzo
@hope-k
@iamthegray, @ilt-yodith, @isa93, @isufbakaj
@jadams2k18, @janine-ariane, @jakeybrown, @jayna, @joyyrush
@kainos-success, @kamalkennedy, @kingernie, @ktfabler
@ldacey-laforge, @lonestarpoet, @loraine, @lucylin
@Mammasitta, @marie-jay, @mark-dahl, @maxiemoses-eu, @metzli, @mikesthoughts, @mineopoly, @miniature-tiger, @momzillanc
@naquoya, @naso, @navaneeth, @negativer, @niallon11, @nicolexu1337
@onewithearth
@paintingangels, @pixiehunter, @poeticnest, @preparedwombat, @prydefoltz
@purpledaisy57, @pyrowngs
@saoirseronan, @sciencevienna, @skoolielove, @spalatino, @stayoutofherz, @sukhasanasister, @superjongky
@thatlovechild, @theblackcrow, @therosepatch, @tiatu, @tibra, @tin-tin, @tony-duke, @tygertyger
@udayakumarage, @upen-srv
@vaitelavicius, @vivek-g
@whitewizard, @wilfredn, @wordsalmighty, @wylde
@yomibolo
@zen-art

Thank you so much for participating!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

p.s. Did you know there are a number of micro-fiction contests going on? Check out the 232-word contest by @felt.buzz, or look for other contests using the #fiftywords tag.

Sort:  

Woot! I do like your multiple-meaning prompts. The real challenge is trying to think of a meaning that nobody else will :)

Edit: adding mine here: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@negativer/free-50-word-story

(one wouldn't think it'd be hard finding time to write a 50 word story, but sometimes it is very difficult)

You can do it! Or at least I know I can count on you to put your clever @negativer spin on it, regardless of the meaning of “spring” you choose.

Indeed, I feel neg is made for this kind of contest, haha!

He is! Check out his entry and others in last week's 50-word contest. (See my blog or the link to the results in this post.)

Yay, another one already! Time to get cracking. Or should I say... no, I won't say. I'll save it for the story. ;)

Hee hee hee! Looking forward to it!

Here's my contribution: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@adigitalife/the-race-a-fifty-word-story

Only my second ever fifty-word story but I'm already having so much fun with it! Thanks again for all your hard work in organizing this!

LOVE it. Had to resteem that one.

My entry:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@diebitch/fifty-words-story-a-summer-rose

had posted earlier, but I think steem was being funny at that time

Yay! Yes you did indeed! Off I go to read it. 😊

This was a challenging one for me, for sure. Once I found my muse, getting the story to work was definitely a feat. But here it is: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@therosepatch/spring-rolls-a-50-word-story

You and your muse did well! It’s very clever.

I had a lot of fun writing the last one and so I will definitely give it a shot. Congratulations to all the winners and participants.

It may come later in the week however. Is that okay?

Absolutely. Anytime before Sunday.

OK - I wrote a story. It's dark, and I hope not offensive - I do explain my reason for writing at the end.

https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@brandonsadventur/a-cruel-game-fiftywords-story-contest

Wow. Excellent work. Something that reminds us of the ugly past, and does not glorify the atrocities, is not offensive. But I'm glad you are sensitive to potential perceptions!

My curiosity is killing me! I have to finish my own writing deadline before I can launch into reading these. I am definitely intrigued!

I got a crazy idea from this... If only I could cram it up in 50 words.

That’s the challenge of #fiftywords. You must use word economy like never before! I have seen a number of people use the 50-word format to springboard a larger work. 😊

I succeeded in compressing it, link in another comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61